You may or may not remember me mentioning that I was going to take a belly dancing class in the fall.  My friend JJ saw a Groupon that could be used to take 6 belly dancing classes, so we signed up.  (P.S. – If you aren’t a Groupon user, you need to get on board stat – that Website is amazing and has led to me try new things I may have never even considered in the past).   We were sort of slack about getting our act together and actually deciding on a class and signing up.  Low and behold, December had arrived and we hadn’t signed up and our Groupon looked like it might expire.  Luckily it was extended through January, so we finally signed up.  I am so glad we did because it’s so much fun!

We are taking beginner classes at Nazeem Allayl (to my Atlanta readers – if you are interested in belly dancing, go here!), and I feel like I am learning so much!  I can actually do the moves pretty well once we learn them, if I do say so myself.  With continued practice, I could actually look pretty slick!

The funny thing about taking the class is that I didn’t think the moves would come to me so easily since I had no experience with belly dancing in the past.  Sure I could hip shimmy (your hips/butt look like they are vibrating because you move your legs so fast), but I was clueless about the rest of the moves.  Yeah, from time to time they are hard, and I often leave class super sore, but it’s so much fun.  And it’s a great workout because you are constantly moving and doing moves for whole songs at a time, so it’s a total win-win!

Every move you do starts from belly dance stance, which is you standing with your knees bent (like you are about to sit in a chair), chest out, pelvis rolled in, and your arms out in a soft W-shape.  After a while, your thighs and arms start to burn like crazy, but at least you know you are working something.  So far we have learned a lot of different hip lifts, drops, and shimmies.  Next week we’ll learn the maneuvers that use only your stomach and abs.  I’m really wondering how hard this is going to be…

I have three classes left and am seriously considering continuing with another six classes after these are done.  You work a lot of different muscles (ones that I don’t use on a normal basis), get your heart rate up, and you laugh and have a great time while learning cool dance moves.  If you are looking for something fun or different to add to your workout routine, I totally recommend trying belly dancing.

Besides, who doesn’t like to wear a pretty, jingly hip sash?  🙂

My next adventure will be a Zumba class with JD.  Thanks again Groupon!

