I guess I’m not doing so great with posting regularly in 2011.  Life and work have been a little hectic, and now I’ve come down with a case of sinusitis from hell.  All last week I felt it coming on, but was able to keep it at bay…until Friday.  I woke up that morning with a runny nose and ended up spending most of the day sniffling and sneezing.  Figures that I would get sick right at the start of the weekend, especially because we were supposed to go see Girl Talk with our friends.  I tried my best to rally through, but in the end the pounding bass was too much for my sinus headache, so I had to head out a little early.  The concert was cool, I just wish I’d felt better.

By Saturday, I was a hot snotty mess.  I was so congested that my head was pounding, my eyes looked puffy, and even my teeth hurt.  That meant that I spent the remainder of the weekend (and Monday and today) glued to the couch, popping pills and blowing my nose like it was my new hobby.  On Friday night, T and our friend Hippie watched this crazy documentary about the White family from West Virginia on Netflix.  T was so obsessed with it, that we reinstated our Netflix account just so we could watch it.  And thus began my sickly movie marathon.

We began with The Wild and Wonderful Whites.  This is the true story of the infamous White family of West Virginia.  They are known for living on the other side of the law and are often doing drugs, stealing, murdering, and dancing (yes, dancing).  It’s an interesting look into small town life in West Virginia that revolves around the coal mining industry.  If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it.  It’s so far out there at times, you won’t be able to lift your chin off of your chest, trust me.   Plus the names of the family members alone will have you cracking up.

Next we watched Shutter Island. This is the story of an up-and-coming US Marshall sent to Shutter Island to investigate the disappearance of a patient who is also a murderer.  I don’t know about you, but I love a good suspenseful thriller.  This movie had it all.  Definitely a great movie to watch when you feel like being inquisitive. I am really starting to like Leonardo DiCaprio in these darker films.  I think it helps make him seem less pretty and rougher around the edges.

Later on Sunday night, we watched Inglourious Basterds, the story of a rag-tag bunch of Jewish-American soldiers who are single-handedly trying to wipe out the Nazis and Hitler.  I was a little leery about watching this movie at first because I was worried that it would be all blood, guts and war.  That was a heavy part of the film, but at the same time it was a clever and funny tale of revenge.  Plus a lot of the film was in French and German, giving me a chance to practice my languages.  It’s gritty and I had to turn my head away at times, but really was quite a good film. I would recommend it, but you may want to watch it with a guy, so you can hide your face on his shoulder during the gross parts.

On Monday, while I was home from work, I watched Alice in Wonderland.  It’s the story of a young adult Alice returning to the world of her dreams where she has to help end the Queen of Hearts’ reign of terror.  It was definitely bright, colorful and fun, while at the same time slightly dark and twisted.  It’s more of a grown up version of the story but still contained a lot of the elements you may remember from other versions you saw as a child.  Johnny Depp made a wonderful Mad Hatter, but I did have difficulty understanding him from time to time.  It could have been his accent or the fact that my ears were clogged.  Check it out if you haven’t seen it yet!

I also watched An Education on Monday.  I’d heard great things about it, so when I saw it was available instantly, I thought why not.  This film tells the story of a teenage London girl in the 1960s who is smart, beautiful and talented but is bored of her middle class life.  Her father is pushing her hard so she will get accepted into Oxford so she can have a better life than he did.  Everything changes when she meets David, who is twice her age and charming, and wants to show Jenny there is more to life than studying.  Their friendship eventually evolves into much more, potentially changing the path that Jenny has planned to follow for years.  This movie was much different than I expected it to be, but it really sucked me in.  Being from Europe, I always love movies that highlight the culture and countries there.  It’s also a coming-of-age love story that we can all relate to in ways.  This is a good rainy day watch.

Since I was still out sick today, I watched The Runaways, which is the story of the first all female rock group of the 1970s featuring Joan Jett and Cherie Curie.  It’s a nitty, gritty look into how a group of talented teens embark on the journey of their lives while trying to make it big in the industry, all while surviving the sex, drugs, and rock and roll lifestyle around them.  Let me just say, I loved the crazy clothes and make up, and of course the hard-rocking music.  It was an interesting look into what these girls had to go through to “make it,” especially since they weren’t even 20 and were basically traveling around unsupervised.  It was definitely one of the better Kirsten Stewart films I’ve seen – she looses her deer-in-the-headlights look and really embraces the bad ass role of Joan Jett.  This is definitely a great watch when you want to channel your inner punk rocker.

Lastly, I watched Up.  I can’t believe I waited so long to watch this movie – I loved it!  But I do have to say that I was crying like a baby throughout.  When I wasn’t sobbing (no fun when you are sick), I was laughing like crazy, so that was a plus.  It’s funny that it’s a children’s movie because the themes are definitely so adult – love, following your dreams.  If you haven’t watched it yet, go out there and do it now!  I guarantee that you will love it!

So, that’s all for my movie-watching for now.  I may try to get one more in tonight, but that will depend on how long it takes us to straighten up the house.  We haven’t really done much since I’ve been sick for the last 5 days…

**Oh, and to let you know, my sister, Little S has started blogging.  I’m excited that my blogging ways (even though they have been a bit slack) have rubbed off on her.  She is still in the beginning stages and doesn’t have many posts up yet, but I thought you lovelies could help welcome her to the blogosphere.**

