So, Atlanta and the state of Georgia (along with much of the Southeast) have been pummeled by a major snow storm that has been topped off with a nice glaze of freezing rain.  The city and state have shut down, literally.  I was looking at a list of closings, and there were more than 900 schools, businesses, and churches closed today.  A large chunk of them will be closed tomorrow.  (I am still waiting with bated breath for my boss to share the great news with us that the office will be closed.  I’m not sure what she is waiting for, all major businesses and school systems are closed.  The state government is telling people to stay home.  I live at the top of a large hill that was an ice luge earlier today; I’m not risking myself or my car to go to work tomorrow.)

Laugh all you will my northern friends, but the south is not equipped to handle this.  We don’t have the equipment to handle the snow, and you add ice into the mix and we are just fucked.  People who were stupid enough to try to drive today either ended up in an accident or had to abandon their cars on the side of the road because they couldn’t get enough traction to go anywhere.  I don’t know about you, but I enjoyed being snowed in at my house with T and my kitties, cooking and eating good food, and enjoying the icy winter wonderland waiting outside our windows.  The extra time off is a major plus too!

T and I were both off today, so we made the most of it and went out a few times to enjoy the snow.  We got snowed in in New York when we were there for Christmas, but it was too powdery to do anything with and the winds were gusting at 20+ miles an hour, making the 20s feel like teens.  Here it wasn’t too horrible.  It was brisk (but not NY brisk) and a little icy rainy, but we tromped around the neighborhood for a while.  Then we decided to make a snowman.

Since the snow had already begun to ice over, it was too difficult to make a large snowman.  Instead, we opted to make a mini one, along with a snowcat to keep him company.  I had so much fun!  I felt like I was a little kid again.  When we were done, we headed inside to make some chili and warm up.

Later in the day, we went sledding.  Since we were unprepared for the conditions, we didn’t have a sled.  So we had to improvise.  First we tried a garbage can lid, which didn’t work at all.  We were pretty bummed, until we saw a mom with her kids, sledding on a cookie sheet.  Luckily we had two really large ones, so we took the less nicer of the two and hit the slopes (or the iced-over street).  Here we were, late 20-somethings, laughing and giggling like kids.  The only other sledders were young kids who were being watched by their parents.  It was so much fun!  It’s days like today that make me really miss living in snowy places (even though I know if we were up north, we’d have been at work today).  I can’t wait to bust out the cookie sheet again tomorrow!

Here are some fun pictures from our Snowcation in Hotlanta!

 

Mini snowman and snowcat

The snowfall Sunday night

Fado checking out the snow this morning

T, after his cookie sheet luge

Me with our "sled," rocking the Eskimo look

 

And to round this bad boy out, here are a couple of  “sledding” videos:

