A couple of weeks ago I received some news that made me so happy and made me beam from ear-to-ear…

Little S and her boyfriend JT got engaged!  I am so excited for the both of them and can’t wait to welcome him into our family.  From the second they started dating, he’s always gotten along well with T and me, as well as the rest of our family and friends.  Even though they’ve only been dating for two years, it feels like we’ve known him forever.

I’m so excited to share my sisterly perspective and wedding advice with Little S while she and JT plan their big day.  I’m glad that I’ve gone through it all before so I’ll be able to offer her guidance and assistance along the way.  She has also asked me to be her matron of honor (which makes me sound so old, haha),  so I know I have some big speech shoes to fill.  She rocked the house with the speech she wrote for my wedding – everyone was cracking up or tearing up.  It may have quite possibly been the best speech ever!

It’s so weird to me when I stop and think about it.  This year, Little S will be 25, and on some as of yet undetermined date between May and October 2011, she will be married.  I can remember the day she was born.  I was not a happy camper.

My mom and dad rushed to the hospital on Christmas Day and left me at home with my Oma and Opa.  Since we were in Germany, we’d already done our present opening on Christmas Eve, meaning that I had many new toys to keep me company.  But after a while, the absence of the parental units was starting to take its toll on me.  I wanted my mommy and daddy, and they were nowhere to be found.  Hey, I was three and had been the only child in the house up until this point.

Finally, on December 26th my dad came and picked the three of us up to take us to the hospital (Oma and Opa can’t drive) to meet my little sister.  Let me tell you, I was less than thrilled.  I took one look at the pink baby in my parents arms and asked when we could go home.  No one paid much attention to my lack of enthusiasm at the time.

As the months and years progressed, Little S began to grow on me.  The older we got, the closer we became.  We were like peanut butter and jelly even though there are three years between us.  We were always running around outside playing when we were younger.  Then when she got older, she’d accompany me to my high school parties and hang out with my friends.  She even came to my senior prom because one of my guy friends said he couldn’t image her not being there since she was apart of “the group” – so she became his date.

In college, I took her to get her first fake ID saying that she was 18 so she could come out with us to the dance clubs when she visited me in college.  I was so excited that she was going to be a freshman when I was a senior, and we’d get to spend more time together hanging out.  That’s just the type of bond we have.

Even though she is my sister, I am as protective over her as I would be over my child.  No matter how old we are, I always feel the need to watch over her and stick up for her since she is my little sister.  I know that feeling will never fade, but it’s nice to know that now she’ll have an extra set of eyes looking out for her for the rest of her life.

Little S and JT, I am so happy for the two of you!  I love you both so much and am glad that the two of you found each other.

