Well hello little blog.  Sorry I’ve neglected you for nearly a month.  I’m not trying to avoid you, and it’s not that I don’t like you anymore, it’s just that real life has gotten in the way of my daily writing.  The weather is nice, so when I’m not at work the last thing I want to do is plop down in front of a computer.  You understand right, little buddy?

Well, yesterday I had a first.  I got pulled over for speeding on my way back to the office from lunch with my sister (shock and awe considering that I have such a lead foot).  We had decided to meet for sushi, only to find that the place we wanted to go to wasn’t open for lunch.  There was a Korean restaurant next door, so we went there instead.  The food was delicious, but the service was slow as hell.  Naturally when we were done, I felt like I needed to rush to get back to the office because I’d been gone a little over an hour already.

I was probably less than a mile from work, when all of a sudden a motorcycle cop pulled out of this driveway behind me.  A few seconds later he turned on his lights.  He told me that I was going 51 in a 35, which I hadn’t realized was a 35 mph zone.  It was not like I was on some small two-lane road, I was on a six lane state highway.  Why the hell is the speed limit 35, especially when the other half of the road that heads toward Atlanta is a 45?  Lame!  I let him know that I was sorry and that I thought that it was a 45 mph zone.  It didn’t matter; he still gave me a ticket.

The thing that annoys me about this whole situation is that on my ticket it says he lasered me.  Well, I didn’t see any radar gun.  He looked like he was sitting in a driveway, about to make a right onto the road I was driving on.  There was actually an SUV sitting next to him, trying to make a left out of the same place.  And…I didn’t even have my foot on the gas.  I was breaking because I had just changed lanes because I was gearing up for a right turn.  WTF?!?!

But since I’m a getting “pulled over for speeding” virgin, I didn’t think to ask about how he knew how fast I was going or when he got the damn radar gun calibrated.  Whatever.   I guess I can’t bitch too much.  In the 10+ years that I have been driving, this is my first ticket.  It could be worse.

Now I just need to find out what the ticket is going to cost me.  I’m assuming it will be somewhere around $200 since I was apparently going 16 miles over the limit.

Thanks Office Motorcycle Cop for popping my speeding ticket cherry!  Asshole…

So, have you ever been nabbed for going too fast?  Did you get out of it?

