April has kicked off with quite a bang.  Of course I ended up getting sick last week and had to bail on the Third Eye Blind concert last Thursday.  Luckily I felt better by Friday, and T’s birthday weekend wasn’t ruined.

I don’t know about the rest of the country, but Georgia has jumped straight from winter right into summer (except today we have more spring-like temperatures).  On Good Friday we got out of work early, so I went over to my co-worker Mel’s house and we laid out because it was 80 degrees.  It was nice to finally be able to be outside without freezing to death.

That night, T and I had planned to go out to dinner for his birthday, but since it was perfect patio weather, we opted to have friends over for a cookout instead.  It was a meat extravaganza chez moi that night – burgers, brats, Italian sausages, chicken drumsticks, and steaks.  We had some potato salad as a side to give us one meat-free item.

Saturday, we headed down to my parents house to celebrate T’s birthday and Easter.  Since he is a fan of fondue, we decided to prepare  cheese and oil fondues.  Let me tell you, the cheese fondue was amazing.  You should have seen as all scarfing it down – it was like we hadn’t eaten in a month!

Fondue on the porch

After dinner, ASP and her husband stopped by to hang out for a bit, as well as our German neighbors.  The rest of the night consisted of consuming copious amounts of beer and German liquor, Williams Birne (a pear-flavored brandy, aka Firewater to our American friends) and Apfelkorn (a sweet apple flavored liqueur).  My dad got a little tipsy and was regaling us with all of his tales from the days when he was a young military police officer in Germany.  He had some pretty crazy stories that had everyone cracking up!

On Easter morning, we all got up and looked for our Easter baskets.  Yes, we are all in our mid to late 20s and my parents hide baskets for us to find.  I love it, even though I always suck at finding mine.  After we ate breakfast, we spent hours hanging out on the patio, playing canasta (we are a total game playing-addicted family).  If you’ve never tried it, it really is a cool card game.  Our German neighbors came over again and had Easter dinner with us.  All in all, it was a fun and relaxing weekend.

Monday I took a half-day so we could go to the Braves’ opening day game.  It was a gorgeous, sunny, not a cloud in the sky kind of day, and it was 86 degrees out.  I opted to wear a strapless sundress so I wouldn’t end up with a funky farmer’s tan and ended up burning my upper back and shoulders.  I seriously looked like a lobster.  I guess not wearing sunscreen was a bad choice.  We had a great time despite the heat (even though we peaced out a little early) and the Braves won, so it was a great day!

Tuesday, JD and I went to a Thrashers game with CMc and her boyfriend.  We had seats 3 rows from the ice!  It was pretty damn awesome to be so close.  Unfortunately the Thrashers sucked it up that night and didn’t score once.  But we still managed to have a fun night.  And nothing beats seeing grown men slam each other up against the Plexiglas and seeing their faces all smooshed up on the glass.  I love watching hockey!  I really miss watching T play – I think he needs to get into a men’s league or something.

We were so close!

So far April has been a pretty fun month.  This Saturday we are going camping for T’s birthday round 2 with a big group of friends, and I know that will be as insane and fun as it was last year.  I can’t wait!

So, how has April been treating you so far?

