I really don’t know what’s wrong with me lately, but I have been such a blogging slacker.  I don’t know why – well, actually I do.  I’ve been super swamped with work because I picked up a new client at the beginning of the month, meaning that I know work on 4 accounts.  This means I am crazy busy all of the time (I used to blog during my lunch break) and when I’m not swamped, I need some mental downtime.  There is only so much creativity that can flow from a girl at one time.

I don’t really have anything super amazing to talk about, but I did want to share  some thoughts about recent events.

1.  St Patty’s Day – This year, it was kind of a wash.  In the past, we’ve gone out to the big celebrations whether they’ve happened the weekend before or on the actual day.  This year, not so much.  The Saturday before St. Pat’s, we met up with a bunch of friends at a little Irish bar named Stout. T and the guys all headed over around 5 p.m. in the afternoon, but I opted to wait.  I was tired and was enjoying my book, plus I didn’t feel like imbibing at such an early hour.  By the time that I got there around 9 p.m., the boys were all a little tipsy.  By 11, T was ready to head home, which was fine by me.

We had planned to take off on actual St. Patty’s and go to Fado’s big street festival, but T and I were both super busy, so we decided it may be smarter for us to work that day.  Of course it was cold and dreary that day, so when we went out to celebrate after work it was soggy and gross outside.  Of course Stout was packed to the brim, so we ended up across the street at a British pub that served no food instead.  I was pretty bummed because I was seriously craving an Irish breakfast.  We ended up ordering Dominos and had it delivered to the bar.  That was clutch because we were all starving.  It was a fun night, but not quite up to the caliber of past years.  Hopefully your St. Patty’s was a little more exciting.

2. Car drama – Right before New Year’s Eve, I was told that the front and rear brakes on my car were in need of being replaced.  This news sort of blew my mind because I’d just had them replaced in November 2008, so I decided to hold off on the repairs at that point in time because the repair shop told me I’d be OK for a few more months.  Plus I’d just spent a pretty penny on some other repairs.  Let me tell you, I’m so glad I waited.

My good friend ASP’s husband is a mechanic, so he told me to bring my car by this past weekend and he’d fix the brakes for me.  He was a sweetheart and fixed up my little car for a really reasonable price and then told me some disturbing news.  Apparently the place I’d taken my car to in 2008 (Goodyear, cough cough) had  installed my front brake pads the wrong way!!  WTF?!?!

I’d been driving around on pads that were incorrectly installed for more than a year.  No wonder they barely lasted a year before needing to be replaced.  Don’t even get me started on the safety issues this could have caused me.  And then I found out that the rear brakes were fine and didn’t need replacement like the GY mechanics had told me.  I’ve been a loyal customer with them for years, but now I’m starting to question going to them again.  Apparently their mechanics don’t know as much about repairing cars as they should.  I think I’m sticking to my buddy from now on, even though going to him is not nearly as convenient.

3.  The Weather – I am so sick of the crappy-assed weather that has been taking over Georgia in 2010.  We’ve only had a couple of warm days so far, and I am beyond ready for spring.  This Friday and Saturday we were blessed with sunny and beautiful 70-degree days, only to have the rug snatched out from under us on Sunday.

On the first day of spring, we were greeted by gray clouds, wind and rain.  It was only about 60 degrees.  I did end up seeing a super cool rainbow once the rain let up for a bit, but that was not enough to make up for the crappy first day of spring.  Yesterday, it was in the 50s and it snow flurried in the morning.  In Atlanta.  WTF?!?!  And people say global warming doesn’t exist…

I am so ready for warm and sunny days and patio weather.  April, please do a better than March with its BS weather.

4.  Upcoming Fun – This Sunday, JD, CGN, CMc and I are all going to see Chelsea Handler at The Fox.  CGN and CMc are huge Chelsea fans, and JD and I watch the show from time to time.  I love her super sarcastic and blunt personality, and I can’t wait to see how it translates into her stand up.  I expect to be laughing so hard that my sides ache and tears will be running down my cheeks.

On April 1st, T and I are going with a group of our friends to see Third Eye Blind.  I was a huge fan in high school, and their first few CDs made up a large part of the soundtrack when T and I first started dating 10.5 years ago (awww).  I am pretty excited to see them, and I am hoping that they play a lot of their older songs.  I know they have a new album coming out, and I glad to hear that they are still out there making music.

Anything interesting been happening in your life lately?

**Keep your eyes peeled – in April, this little blog will be hosting its very first giveaway!  Details to come…**

