I go through these phases were I become obsessed with reading.  I’m not even kidding.  If I really like a book, I will not put it down.  It’s not uncommon for me to read a 500 page book in little more than a day.  But it works both ways…if the book doesn’t grip me, I can drag it out for days, weeks or months.

The last book that I completed in about a day was The Time Traveler’s Wife.  Oh.My.God.  I couldn’t put it down.  I guess I’m a bit of a sucker for love stories, especially when things aren’t always perfect – it makes it feel more realistic.  And I’m also a little slow to jump on the bandwagon.  People have been talking about this gem for years, and I only just read it.  What is wrong with me?

**POTENTIAL SPOILER ALERT**

I cried sobbed like a baby at the end, specifically when reading Henry’s letter to Clare.  I didn’t want T to see me blubbering, so I totally hid in the bathroom until I could maintain some semblance of composure because at one point I was crying so badly I couldn’t see the words on the page…true story.

**OK, you’re safe again.**

Since I liked the book so much, I opted to watch the movie as well.  The movie was not nearly as good as the book, and honestly I was a little disappointed after I saw it (the actors did a great job portraying the characters but so much of the book was left out).  I feel like the movie didn’t explore the depth of Clare’s and Henry’s romance because it didn’t go into much detail about the early stages of the relationship, which was such an important part of their story.  I also wonder how much sense the movie would make to someone who hasn’t read the book.  All the jumping around and craziness that Harry goes through would be pretty confusing if you hadn’t read the book.

The Time Traveler’s Wife definitely got my reading bug hungry for more amazing books, so I went on a bit of crazy book buying spree.  While I was pre-ordering my copy of the New Moon DVD (shut up, you know you ordered yours already too) on Amazon.com, I decided to purchase some new reads.  I ended up choosing Her Fearful Symmetry (Audrey Niffenegger’s second novel), The Help (Kathryn Stockett’s first novel), The Elegance of the Hedgehog (Muriel Barbery’s French bestseller), and A Reliable Wife (Robert Goolrick’s fiction debut).

I’ve heard great things about The Elegance of the Hedgehog and The Help, so that’s why I chose both of those reads.  I liked the Time Traveler’s Wife so much that I was super interested in reading Audrey’s ghost story.  And this will make you laugh – a few months ago I was at a bookstore picking up some publicity for a client when I saw A Reliable Wife sitting on the counter.  The cashier saw me checking it out and raved about how good it was.  I didn’t buy it then, but when I was ordering my other books it popped up as a suggestion.  I took this as a sign and ordered it as well.

I’m currently reading A Reliable Wife, and it’s really drawn me in.  I feel like it had a bit of a slow start, so I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  Luckily it picked up and now I’m completely sucked into this story of twisted love and betrayal.

With all this reading I’ve got piled up, maybe I should join a book club or start my own.  I just don’t know how I would feel about having to read a book by a certain deadline.  I feel like the pressure may take some of the fun out of it, you know?

Here’s a weird book fact about me – I like to buy the books I read.  I’m not a fan of checking them out from a library (which I know would save me so much money) because I like to keep adding to my reading collection.

Are you reading anything at the moment that you just can’t seem to put down?  Have you read any of the books in my line up?

