On Thursday night, T and I decided to venture out to Buckhead to go to dinner.  Since it was Buckhead Restaurant Week, we opted to try out Tom Colicchio’s Craft.  We were both excited to dine at the Top Chef judge’s Atlanta hot-spot.  The restaurant is located in the heart of Buckhead, surrounded by high-rise office buildings and condos.  Upon entering in the glass front doors, you are immediately greeted by the smell of  a wood burning oven – I don’t know about you, but I just love that smell.

We were seated in the upstairs dining room, right by the staircase, which is always a fun spot because both T and I like to people watch.  The decor was classy and chic, featuring lots of warm wood accents, large windows, and unique lighting – individual filament light bulbs that gave off just the perfect amount of glow.   We were both starving, so we jumped right into perusing the menu to find the perfect meal for our date night.  Of course we both immediately found dishes that we were dying to try, so the discounted restaurant week menu went right out the window.  We started off our meal with cocktails – T with his standard dirty martini and me with a Sunshine Squeeze #1, a tasty blend of vodka, fresh ginger, cane syrup and fresh lemon and lime juice.  This is definitely the perfect springtime or summer cocktail, and I will totally try to recreate it at home on of these days!

We decided it would be best to share an appetizer and each order an entrée and a side since the food is served to share if you’d like.  T really wanted to sample the Veal Sweetbreads, so I agreed.  I was a little nervous about eating them, since I’ve only had them one other time, but I am so glad we did (you just can’t think about what you’re eating, and you’ll be A-Okay).  They were delicious!  T and I agreed that they were our favorite item of our dinner.  They were served in a sweet and tangy sauce with kumquats in it as well.  It was the perfect blend of sweet and savory, and I could seriously eat them once a week!

For our main meal, T opted to have the Colorado Lamb Loin & Shoulder and the Winter Squash & Pancetta Risotto, while I went with the Muscovy Duck Breast & Confit Leg and the Gnocchi.  If I could have a do-over, I would do it here.  The confit leg was delicious, but I wasn’t 100 percent in love with the duck breast.  It was cooked medium, which was a little weird for me since I’ve only ever eaten duck well-done.  If I could go back, I would ask for it to be cooked well.  The texture of the breast was a little rubbery since it was medium, which I had a hard time getting over.  I loved the flavor of the seasoning and sauce, but I just couldn’t get past the texture and the fact that it wasn’t well-done.  T’s lamb was really delicious and the medium cooking temperature was perfect for his dish.  I also think it would have been better if we’d have chosen one veggie and one starch, instead of two starches for our sides.  T’s risotto was really rich and delicious.  The gnocchi was so soft and pillowy, but I would have liked them to be a little saltier and saucier.

My duck with the risotto and gnocchi

T’s lamb, gnocchi and risotto

Overall, we both really enjoyed ourselves and the food (even though the price tag was a bit of a killer).  I think we’ll go back one of these days to try some of the other tasty morsels on the menu.  Maybe we’ll even venture to Craftbar, located downstairs, for some more casual and delicious dining.

Have you eaten anywhere amazing lately?

**Keep your eyes peeled – in the next few weeks, this little blog will be hosting its very first giveaway!  Details to come…**

