Today, T-Mobile really pissed me off.  My family and I have been loyal customers since 2001.  Hell, we were with T-Mobile before they even existed.  First they were Powertel, then Voicestream, then T-mobile.  I’ve always been happy with my service, because they have some of the best rates  out there.  But now TM has left me with a sour taste in my mouth.  Let me give you the back story…

For my birthday in 2008, I got the G1 Google Phone.  I was so excited about it because it was way more high-tech than any of my older phones, and it worked so well.  Fast forward to the end of 2009, and I started to notice that the battery life on my phone was not as stellar as it had been in the beginning.  I understand that battery life wears down over time, but the phone is only a little over a year old.  It should still hold a charge for more than 12 hours, especially when I’m not using it constantly.  I know using the Internet and apps drains the battery, but I very rarely sit there for hours on end using them because I’m on a computer all day at work.  The phone has also started popping up some error messages when I restart it (I turn it off almost every night to give it some down time) asking me to wait or forceclose.  I know that, that is not supposed to happen almost every time the phone loads up.

Last night I’d finally had enough, so I called T-Mobile.  I spoke with the nicest and most helpful rep who had me do a few things that would make the phone perform better.  After I explained all my issues to him, he agreed that I would need a new battery and possibly a new phone sent to me.  Here comes the crappy part…since I’ve owned the phone for more than a year, there was nothing T-Mobile could do to help me.  I was kind of annoyed, but I understood.  The nice rep referred me to the phone’s manufacturer (HTC) and told me that they would be able to help me – especially since the amount of time I use the phone didn’t seem correct for the amount of battery drainage I was experiencing.

This morning I gave HTC a call to see what they could do.  I was told that I would need to send my phone in to have a technician look over it and try to repair it.  That isn’t really much of an option since I don’t have another phone that I can use.  I guess I could try to find an old handset, but I don’t know if I even still have them (I may have donated them).  I told the rep that wasn’t really an option for me.  Eventually she put me through to a technician to see if he could assist me with my issue over the phone.  Once I got connected to the tech, I was informed that he wasn’t allowed to help me because T-Mobile has taken over the phone, and he legally is not allowed to work on it.  He was nice enough to transfer me back to TM, where I chatted with a less than helpful person.

Basically, she told me there was nothing they could do because I was out of the one year window.  She told me that I could buy a new battery for $50 from their Web site though.  After that, I got off the phone with her because I was annoyed about being shuttled back and forth and not receiving any real resolution for my problem.

Nothing irritates me more than being forced to sign a two-year contract and being sold products that can not make it for that duration of time.  If I have to be legally bound to your company for such an extended period, you better be damn sure that my phone will work up to par for that amount of time.  And if there is an issue with it, you better be willing to work with me to fix the problem.  It’s ridiculous that my phone’s battery can’t even make it 12 hours without having to be charged.  I’ve only had it a year and a few months.

I can understand not wanting to send me a new phone, but not replacing the crappy battery is pretty shady in my book.  There’s no way in hell that it’s going to survive till November, when my contract expires.  And I don’t think I should have to pay money to replace a poorly designed battery.  If it was $10, fine.  But $50 is quite a chunk of money – especially since it’s not my fault it can’t hold a charge.

T-Mobile, this really hurts my heart.  I’ve always stood by you, even when you didn’t have the coolest phones on the market.  I don’t always get the best reception, especially when I’m in NY, but I don’t complain.  I drop calls in my house at least a few times a week.  And you’ve always been so helpful in the past when my other phones have had problems ( I had a phone in college that kept messing up, and they replaced it 3 different times without any issues).  But this time around, I’m very disappointed.  You’ve left me hanging.  And if I can’t get this resolved without having to fork over my hard-earned money, you better believe that I’ll be switching to another company when my contract expires in November.  T-Mobile, your days with me as a customer may be numbered.

So, have you had any cell phone drama lately?  Do you have any tips for getting my issues solved?

