Today on my way home I was chatting with my friend Jewels when all of a sudden I came across horrible traffic.  I was slightly confused because traffic only gets that backed up when there is bad weather or there’s a Braves game.  Since I was catching up with Jewels, I wasn’t too horribly irritated by rolling along at a speedy 5 miles an hour.

When I hung up the phone, I got a text from JD saying that a zebra had escaped from the circus that’s set up in Atlanta and had run through downtown and was on the highway.  In order to keep the little guy from getting injured, police closed down the highway until its trainer could catch it and move it to safety.  Eventually it was carefully surrounded by motorcycles and the trainer caught him and loaded him onto the truck to take him back to the circus compound.

Can you imagine sitting at a traffic light and seeing a zebra galloping down the sidewalk?  So bizarre.  I’m just glad he wasn’t injured and made it safely “home” – not that a circus compound in the city is a good home for any animal…

The funny thing is, this isn’t the first zebra hanging out on the highway incident in Atlanta.  What?!?, you say.  Well, in 2008, about 20 miles south of Atlanta, a baby zebra apparently fell out of a truck and was hit by another car (so sad).  He eventually made it to the shoulder of the road, where he was spotted by commuters, munching on grass.  He was taken to a recovery center and went through surgery and now lives there happily ever after.

Somebody needs to take these poor guys back to Africa and keep them off the Atlanta highways.

So, anything crazy going on in your neck of the woods today? 🙂

Here is the link to the video if you want to check it out.

