The traffic in Atlanta is ridiculous.  I know how I have blogged about it before, but my experiences this morning have made me extra stabby.  I live about 10 miles from the office, and I give myself 20-25 minutes to get here.  But it never seems to make a difference.  If I leave for work earlier than normal, I get stuck in traffic that is a result from idiots who can’t drive.

Take this morning, for example.  I was in my car around 8:40.  I was on my way and got caught at a red light.  I was about 12-15 cars back, which isn’t so bad.  When the light turned green, it seriously took the first couple of cars about 30 seconds to get moving.  30 fucking seconds!!!  What the hell?!?!  Do you want to know how many cars made it through the light?  About 6.  To me, that is totally unacceptable.  I can not fathom why in the world it would take someone 30 seconds to notice that the light is green and push the gas pedal.

Once I made it past the idiots staring with gaping mouths at the green light and not moving, I had to get on the highway.  Entering onto the highway from where I live is always an adventure.  I have 3 different options I can take to get on the highway.  I tend to avoid the one that is furthest north because the traffic over there is insane, plus you get caught up in the back up that is on the highway.  There are 2 that are fairly close distance-wise, but the middle option has a horrible traffic light and the intersection backs up.  So lately I have been using the one that is furthest south.

Sometime in 2009, the city of Atlanta and the GA DOT decided that it would be a good idea to install a ramp meter to help regulate the traffic.  I am all for that, as long as they are helping the flow of traffic and not hindering it.  Yesterday and today, the traffic on the highway has been moving, but the extended on-ramp has been backed up to the previous exit because of the metered light!

The metered light drives me insane because it seriously does nothing to help the flow of traffic.  We are stuck in a line of cars, sitting bumper to bumper, while the cars on I-75 fly by us without a second glance.  Sometimes I cheat, because another lane merges into this extended on ramp, and I cut over into the lane that rarely has any cars in it just so I don’t sit at the light forever.

Then, once I’m finally on the highway, I have to merge all the way to the far left lane so I can exit onto I-85 north.  This is where I often encounter some major assholes – the people who ride in the lane, even though it says exit only, to avoid the standstill traffic.  At the last possible second, instead of exiting onto the next highway, they come to a complete stop and try to merge back into the stopped traffic on I-75 south.  This causes all of us exiters to be backed up and waiting for the douchebag to get over into the next lane, which is so not cool!

Once you get past all of the bad and selfish drivers, the traffic is fine.  Until I get off the highway onto the road that takes me to my office.  The speed limit is 40.  This morning I was stuck behind a van, in the left lane (surprise, surprise), going 25-30 miles an hour.  What is with people???  There is a HUGE speed limit sign right as you get off the exit, telling us how fast we need to drive.  I don’t know why people think it’s acceptable to drive 15 miles under the speed limit.  It wasn’t icy out or wet, there was no sun in our eyes, people just can’t freaking drive!

And while I’m all ranty, what the hell is up with traffic lights that aren’t sensored?  Nothing annoys me more than when I’m driving on the bigger road and the light changes red at an intersection where there are no cars on the cross street, and I have to sit there for a minute or two.  Is it that hard to install a sensor?

Don’t even get me started on lights that are on the same street that don’t sync up.  How hard is it to make sure that all the lights on the main road are green while are the cross streets are red?

So, what’s getting under your skin today?

