Today has been epic for the city of Atlanta – there is snow in the forecast!  It’s so funny living in the South and hearing that it’s going to snow.  People flip out – I can’t make fun of them too much though because I totally get excited for snow like a little kid.  Living in Germany until I was 7 and in New York for 2 years means that I have seen my fair share of snow, but I can’t help how giddy I feel when it happens in Atlanta.  It rarely snows enough to count as “real snow” down here, so it’s extra special when it happens.  There is something so magical about the sparkly white dusting that makes it feel like real winter.

In Atlanta it does get cold – not often, but it does happen from time to time.  Like now.  Yesterday our high was colder than Anchorage, and that’s a pretty big deal for us!  Here, winter usually means cold and rainy, which is no fun.  It makes for the type of chill that sinks into your bones and makes you feel like you will never warm up.  But when it does snow, the one or two times a year, it’s just so pretty.

In honor of the wintery weather, I decided to make a yummy, comforting dinner – steak, mashed potato skins (courtesy of Rachel Ray, with my edits of course), sautéed mushrooms and onions, and wilted spinach.  Everything turned out super delicious, except for the steak.  I bought a bigger piece of meat, and I guess it was a tougher cut.  It was some type of sirloin, which normally I make top sirloin and it’s good, but this was pretty tough.  I was slightly bummed because I was really craving a tasty steak, and it just wasn’t cutting it.  It’s OK though, I just loaded up on extra mashed potatoes (they have cheese AND bacon in them).

After dinner we were planning on heading to a friend’s house to watch the bowl game, but by the time 8:30 rolled around I just wasn’t feeling like going anywhere.  So instead, T and I opted to stay in.  We popped open a bottle of prosecco, and I told him we could watch the game.  He’s as happy as the cat who caught the canary, and I’m all warm and toasty under my new fleecy blanket, lounging on the couch.  The house feels cozy with the Christmas tree all lit up (yes, we still haven’t taken down the tree), and I’m glad to be here.

I’ve got my fingers crossed and am thinking positive, snowy thoughts (à la JD and her new The Secret way of thinking) in the hopes that Atlanta will ice over and shut down tomorrow.  I know I’ve only been back to work for 4 days, but I am ready for a snow day!

Our dinner, with the steak that looked better than it was  😦

A glimpse of the snow outside our condo

The snow looks so pretty (this is also my Project 365 pic for Jan. 7)

Snowing on the patio

**Just heard on the news that the snow is sitting directly over downtown Atlanta and the roads are starting to get slick.  The low tonight is going to be around 18 degrees.  Fingers and toes are double crossed for a snow day tomorrow!

