Eggnog or hot chocolate? This is a tough one because I like them both, but I have to say that hot chocolate wins.  Eggnog is just so heavy sometimes.  Plus I am a chocoholic!

Does Santa wrap the presents or leave them open under the tree? Our Santa presents were always unwrapped with bows and name tags on them.   That’s how we knew they were the Santa presents.  Plus a lot of times they were bigger objects or weirdly shaped, and wrapping them just wasn’t an option.

Colored lights on a tree or white? We always had colored when I was a kid, but now my parents have switched to plain white.  Mine and T’s tree has colored lights – I just love them so much!

Do you hang mistletoe? No, I didn’t.  I really should.  I think I just forgot.  Next year though…

When do you put your decorations up? We put ours up after Thanksgiving/in early December.  I like the way the house feels when it’s all festive.  It adds a whole new level of coziness!  I also like to leave it up as long as possible.  Who doesn’t like coming home to a twinkly tree?

What is your favorite holiday dish? Oh jeez, that’s hard.  We never eat the same thing on Christmas because it’s Little S’s birthday too, so she always gets to pick.  I guess I would have to say the German Christmas cookies my mom makes.  American cookies ain’t got nothing on them!

Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? My family usually opened one on Christmas Eve, especially if we knew someone received a board game.  Since we do Christmas early with my family because we go to NY to see T’s family, we open our presents the weekend before Christmas.  In NY, we wait to open the presents until Christmas morning.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree? We have a few strands of colorful lights, a variety of ball ornaments in blues, gold, silver, purples, greens, some special shaped ornaments – little Santas, stars, a UGA football player, and cat friendly ones – aka non-breakable for the bottom of the tree.  We finish everything off with a thin red garland and a silver (I think it’s silver – all of a sudden I can only picture the one we had growing up that was purple) baubley tree topper.

Snow: love it or hate it? I heart snow, especially around Christmas.  It makes everything feel so magical and wintery.  Unfortunately it doesn’t snow in Georgia.  When I lived in NY it snowed one Christmas Eve, which was awesome.  Fingers crossed we get some while we are there this year.

Can you ice skate? Yes, but I’m not amazing.  I can skate around and not fall, but that’s about the extent of my skills.  T used to play hockey, so his favorite thing to do to me is skate at top speed backwards while dragging me around.  It’s fun but scares the crap out of me.  I tend to injure ankles easily…

What is your favorite holiday dessert? Anything chocolate.  In reality, I’m not picky!

What is your favorite holiday tradition? When it was just the 4 of us (mom, dad, Little S and me) we’d always make sauerkraut for Christmas Eve dinner, then play board games.  After that, we’d watch A Christmas Story a few times, then head to bed.  Until I got married and started spending Christmas in New York, Little S and I would always sleep in the same room so we could get up together and go see the presents.  We started doing this as kids, and it still stuck into our 20s.  I’m still figuring out the new traditions with T and his family, since last year was my first Christmas with them (except when we all lived there).

Candy canes: yum or yuck? I like them, and they are fun to eat.  The fruity ones are good too!

Favorite Christmas show? I don’t really have a favorite Christmas show, so I’m going with movies.  These are my top ones in no particular order – Home Alone, Prancer, A Christmas Carol (with George C. Scott), A Christmas Story, Elf…I’m sure there are more but I’m drawing a blank at the moment.

So all of you married or serious daters, how to you do Christmas when you have families in different states (or cities)?  Do you alternate each year?  Or always go to the family you see less often?

So, T and I are heading to NY to good old Po-town to spend 6 days with the family tomorrow after work.  Fingers crossed that all of the airport drama from this weekend’s storm is sorted out by then.  I don’t know how much I will be posting up there, but I want to wish all of you lovelies a Merry Christmas and safe and happy travels! 🙂

Until then adieu!

