A few weekends ago, I had a pretty fun-filled weekend.  It consisted of cookie making, movie watching, tacky Christmas sweaters, and Cavalia.  As the weeks have passed, I just realized I never updated you guys on all that fun that was had.

Let’s just say, our Christmas cookie baking and movie extravaganza turned out to be a little more like get hammered and have the worst hangover of your life on Saturday.  We did bake cookies, and some of us tried to watch movies, while the rest of us sat on the patio in 30 degree weather drinking and smoking like champs until 2 a.m.  We were frozen.

I’m sure the hangover wouldn’t have been so bad if I had not decided to try a new festive holiday cocktail – the poinsettia.  This lovely beverage is a mixture of equal parts cranberry juice, champagne, and vodka.  Let me tell you, adding vodka to champagne is a bad choice.  It seriously intensifies the normal champagne headache by about 10,000.  Don’t get me wrong, it was good…damn good.  But I was hurting the next day.

I finally did recover from the living hell I was in.  This was aided by copious amounts of Gatorade (red, the flavor of champs) and a KFC extravaganza that included the grilled and original recipe bucket (the grilled is super tasty), mac-n-cheese, coleslaw, green beans and biscuits.

After JD and I bounced back, we got to work on updating covering up the stains on our Christmas sweaters.  Since they are handmade and include an assortment of non-washable items – ornaments, gift bows, foam gingerbread people – they can’t be washed.  And they are white.  This means that stains are very visible.  And what do you do when you can’t remove a stain?  You cover it with more festive decorations.  After we updated them and covered ourselves in gold glitter hairspray, we were definitely the tackiest people at the party.  Gotta love it!

JD and me in all of our tacky glory.  I even went extra festive with red and green coordinating pieces.

That’s one thing about JD and me, we don’t do anything theme related half-assed.  Along with our sweatshirts, we also made shoes, bought socks with Santa faces on the back, yard candy canes as accessories, and holiday gift bags as purses.  Our earrings are also homemade – candy cane ornaments attached to earring backs!

Would it be weird to take my sweater to get dry cleaned?  I’m just saying….

That Sunday we went to Cavalia, which was really amazing.  Some of the acts included a woman commanding 10 white horses to move in a variety of synchronized moves.  They would all run around the stage, horse hug each other (one horse put his muzzle on the next horse’s back), they would run in concentric circles in opposite directions (I always worried they’d crash), and they’d all stand in a straight line and bow.  It was cool.  Other tricks included guys standing on 2 horses at a time as they ran full speed around the ring – one even jumped off the horses’ backs, over a pole and landed again.  One act featured 2 girls on white horses mirroring each other’s movements.  It was so in-sync, that in the beginning I didn’t realize that they weren’t performing in front of a mirror.  The show also included a lot of cool Cirque-esque acrobatics.  Trapeze work and ribbon and rope work.  If the show comes to you, I recommend that you go see it.  It was one of the coolest things I have witnessed performance wise between humans and animals.

I’m wishing all of you a wonderful weekend!  Got anything exciting planned?

