Normally, I like Christmas commercials.  They are cute or funny, and make you all tingly with the Christmas spirit.  But this year, I’m finding the commercials to be super annoying.  After reading Jess’ post about the ridiculous Lexus ads, I got thinking about which ones are getting on my last nerve and are taking me out of the Christmas spirit.

The one that I hate the most features the little girl and her mom, sitting on the stairs.  The little girl tells her mom they are working on their lists for Santa at school.  Then the little girl starts spouting off all of these things she wants, and the mom zones out, obviously panicking about the amount of money she’s going to have to spend.  Then she imagines Big Lots’ little Christmas elves and how they will help her get everything on her daughter’s list.

You may be wondering why this commercial pisses me off so much.  Well, it’s because it is insinuating that Santa doesn’t really exist.  If Santa was real, the mom wouldn’t be freaking out over the cost of presents.  I know Santa is a ruse, but imagine being a young kid who is beginning to doubt the Claus and seeing this commercial.  It basically is telling you that Santa is fake and your parents are the ones buying the presents.  Way to ruin Christmas for the kiddies, Big Lots!

It saddens my heart that all companies care about during Christmas is making money.  They are going crazy, hawking their cheap prices and encouraging people to buy everything in sight.  I know that stores are struggling too in these tough economic times, but when did the meaning of Christmas get so lost and turned into consumer mania?  This is supposed to be a time about giving and caring, helping out others and being with family and friends.  Not buying bratty and spoiled kids every gift they have on their damn Christmas list!

Even though the Big Lots commercial really annoys me, I do love some Christmas ones.  My favorite are the ones for Garmin.  Carol of the Bells is one of my favorite Christmas songs, and I think it’s so clever how Garmin (or their advertising company) has come up with cooky and funny lyrics.

Last year’s commercial

This year’s commercial – I heart squirrels

I don’t have a GPS, but if I were to get one I might have to head toward the Garmins because the commercials are so funny!

What Christmas commercials are you loving or hating this year?

I’d like to thank everyone who said kind words about my friend’s mom yesterday.  I appreciate the thought!  🙂

