Yesterday was a sad day.  My friend’s mom (Ads) who had the heart attack last week, passed away.   Since she’d had the heart attack, she’d had no brain activity and was on life support.  Since she knew she had some issues with her heart, she’d discussed being taken off life support with her family if that was the only thing keeping her alive.  Ads and his dad received no good news from the doctors the entire week, so yesterday morning they met with the hospice counselor and decided to unhook life support.  Mrs. S passed without suffering.

She was such an awesome person.  I’d only known her for a few years, but as soon as you met her you felt like you were apart of her family.  She always welcomed all of us in with open arms, making sure we were always well-fed and enjoying drinks on the patio with the family.  If you weren’t able to make it over to their house, she’d always tell everyone there how she missed so-and-so and wished they could have made it.

Since all of their family lives out of state, Ads and his dad had all of their friends over.  Everyone was bringing food, desserts, and drinks for them to help lift their spirits.  We all gathered around and reminisced how wonderful Mrs. S was, and we told our favorite stories about her.  For the most part, we all held it together pretty well.  We were trying to be strong for Ads and Mr. S.

Even though it was a sad occasion, it was nice to see how many people came out to support Ads and Mr. S.  We all wanted to be there for them with hugs and lots of love, but also we wanted to be there for Mrs. S, like she’d always been there for us.

I can’t even fathom the pain that both Ads and Mr. S are going through right now.  Mr. S had known Mrs. S since they were children.  They grew up together and were friends.  When they were in their 20s, they reconnected and realized they were each other’s “one.”  I can’t imagine having to be in the position to hold my significant other’s life in my hands.  Being the one who has to make the decision to turn off the life support machine.  In Ads case, I can’t imagine losing my mom at age 27.  His family is super close, especially since it’s just the 3 of them.  Having her not be there is going to be so painful.

What I learned from this situation is that when I die, I want all my friends and family to get together and celebrate my life.  I want people to be laughing, joking and smiling through their tears.  I want people to remember the happy times, not the sadness.  Like we all did for Mrs. S yesterday.

Mrs. S, you are loved and you will be missed!

