Last night, T and I finished putting up our Christmas tree and other festive decorations.  I am proud to say that we didn’t have a repeat of last year’s slack fest. I’m so glad we didn’t bah humbug out again this year.  I love how the living room looks when it’s all decked out.

We would have been finished with the tree on Monday, but we had a little bit of drama.  T got home a little later than expected, then we cooked and ate dinner.  By the time we were done, it was around 9 p.m.  I was almost to the point where I didn’t want to mess with the tree, but he insisted.  So we did some minor living room rearrangements and began assembling the tree.  Christmas Vacation was on, so that helped set the mood.

Once we got the tree assembled, I began to string the lights onto it.  We usually use 2 strands.  While I was weaving the first strand around the tree, T was untangling the second.  Luckily for us, he decided to plug them in first.  That’s when we noticed that only the middle of the strand was working – both ends were burnt out.  We tried replacing bulbs and switching out the fuse, but nothing worked.  So, we were having a bit of a Griswald Christmas with our light drama and had to call it quits.

Last night, I bought a few more strands of lights and some cute candles, and we were good to go with the decorations again.  While we decorated, we watched Bride Wars – not very Christmassy but it came on after Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead and I got sucked in.  It was kind of corny, but it had us laughing at a few parts.

Now the living room is all cute and festive, and I’m happy!  As soon as we got the tree all set up and in its place in the corner, Fado dove underneath it to sleep on the felt tree skirt.  I really hope he doesn’t knock it over because it’s not the sturdiest tree…

Our little Christmas tree

All lit up – it looks a bit like a Charlie Brown tree in this picture

My cute little Santa and trees that I got from Germany

Candy cane candle set

Vanilla scented candles make me crave cookies

The bookcase that doubles as a fireplace mantle during Christmas

Have you started decorating for the holidays?

