…I went to the Midnight showing of New Moon last night.  I was going to wait until next week to go, but as the days went by, I was getting too excited to wait.  Yesterday afternoon I thought, what the hell, let’s go.  Of course my other girl Twilight fans didn’t want to go because it was so late.  So I did what any other chica in my situation would do, I made asked T to go with me.   He hemmed and hawed, but came along (after I agreed to do something for him in return).  Bribery always works best!

After work, I was all kinds of giddy about going to see the movie.  Seriously, I felt like I was 12.  Part of me was really excited to go to the opening show of a movie because I’d never been before.  We arrived at the theater around 11:15, and there was a decent line coming out the door.  I was a bit concerned, but it moved quickly – we only waited about 5 minutes before going in to find our seats.  It was pretty crowded, but T and I were able to find seats in the center section – third row from the back.  Not too shabby if I say so myself.

The movie started right up, no previews, which was nice.  Of course the theater erupted into crazy cheers once the screen lit up.  I saw people taking pictures and videos on their phones.  It was bizarre. The theater also lost it when Edward and Jacob made their first (and shirtless) appearances on-screen.

I won’t say too much about it because I don’t want to ruin it for any of you who haven’t seen it yet, but I really liked it.  Sure it was corny and cheesy in parts, but it was so much better than Twilight.  The movie was more in line with the book, which I really appreciated.  There were also some random funny comments that had me cracking up.  The acting was also better.  Bella had a bit more life to her this time around.  I’ll give it 2 thumbs up.  And yes, it was worth not going to bed till 3 a.m. to see it! 🙂

Ok, there is something that I do want to discuss.  I’m not sure I love Rob Pattinson as Edward.  He just doesn’t really look anything like what I imagined him to look like.  He always looks so scowly and angry, which really bothers me.  I tried to give it a chance, but it’s just not working for me.  I like him better in pictures than on-screen.  I think Paul Wesley (Stefan from The Vampire Diaries) is more along the lines of the Edward I imagined.  Drool…

What are your thoughts?  Did you see New Moon last night/early this morning?  Are you planning on seeing it?

 

