I’m not sure what has been wrong with me lately, but I have been so tired.  For the past few weeks, I pretty much fall asleep on the couch every night.  The times that I doze off vary – sometimes it’s been as early as 9:30 p.m, other times it’s closer to 11 p.m.  I don’t know why I let myself get comfortable and cozy enough to drift into dreamland, but I do.  And being under a snuggly blanket with a cat curled up next to (or on) you doesn’t make staying awake any easier.

I know part of it is a vicious cycle.  I sleep for a couple of hours, wake up and go upstairs, then get ready for bed and lay down.  The problem is, it’s usually around 1 or 1:30 a.m., and it takes me about 20 minutes to wash my face, brush my teeth, change and crawl into bed.  Sometimes I go right back to sleep, but other times it takes me a while.  If it takes me a while, it means that my sleep cycle gets all messed up.  It also means that I don’t get a continuous amount of sleep, which results in me being tired the next day.  It sucks and drives me insane!

I think part of my tiredness also comes from the time change.  By 6 p.m., it’s pitch black outside.  This makes me feel like it’s really late (even when it’s not), and I get tired fairly early.  A few weeks ago, when it was still light around 7 p.m., I didn’t feel nearly as wiped out all of the time.

Tonight, I will NOT let myself fall asleep on the couch.  Once I feel myself getting groggy, I will drag my butt upstairs and lay in bed.  This way if I do fall asleep, at least it’ll be where I’m supposed to do it.

So, are you a random couch snoozer or do you actually make it to bed before dozing off?  And, is the time change messing you up too?

