I have been thinking about writing this post for a few days now, but just haven’t had the time to sit down and actually do it.  Lately, the idea of what is considered beautiful has been on my mind.  Being a female, I feel all of the societal pressures to always be thin and pretty, and frankly it sucks.  Anytime you turn on the TV or pick up a magazine, you are assaulted by an image of a waif thin girl (if she isn’t naturally waifish, she’s probably been retouched to look that way).

When did being a walking toothpick become the beauty ideal?  What happened to the curves that were previously embraced?  And why are they suddenly being shunned?  I don’t know how you feel,  but to me, real women need to have some curves.  Encouraging grown women to look like teenage boys is not sexy, it’s creepy.  When was the last time you thought a skeleton was hot?

What I am starting to admire are the magazines and companies that are embracing real women.  I think Dove’s Campaign for Real Beauty is great.  Personally, I enjoy seeing a picture of a beautiful woman who may have some flaws over someone who is considered “perfect” for being stick thin.

I know that I am by no means perfect.  I could shed a few pounds (ok maybe like 15-20), but overall I am pretty happy with myself and the way I look.  Instead of us ladies always trying to compare ourselves to these non-realistic standards that we are barraged with every day, I think it’s time for us to embrace what makes us special.  So I’m going to toot my own horn and share the things that I think make me look hot!

In no particular order:

My eyes – I have brown eyes, and I love it.  They are a pretty warm shade, that changes from time to time, depending on the color of my eye make up.

My lips – My lips are naturally full and always look like I am wearing a stain.  I’m not sure where I get this from, but it’s awesome.  I don’t have to wear lipstick, which drives me crazy because it makes my lips feel dry.  One time I was at the dentist, and they asked me to wipe my lipstick off.  The dental assistant couldn’t believe it when I said I wasn’t wearing any.

My chest – Luckily for me, I come from a family of chesty ladies, especially on my mom’s side.  Even though they can be a hassle sometimes when I’m shopping for clothes or dresses, I wouldn’t trade them for the world!  Lots of ladies pay a lot of cash for something I have naturally.

My legs – They are nice and long, which means that they always look nice in a pair of heels.  I don’t ever have to hem my pants, and I can get places fast because I take long steps.

Those are some of the things about me that make me feel beautiful.

What makes you feel beautiful and hot?  Go ahead a toot your own horn!

Happy weekend!

