One of my best friends, ASP, is getting married on November 15 (which also happens to be my birthday)!  She was one of my bridesmaids and helped me out during the stressful pre-wedding times, so I want to throw her a really awesome and fun bachelorette party!  There is a slight catch though…she’s not your typical bride.

Let me explain…ASP and her fiance have been together for years, and got engaged while I was in Germany.  They didn’t do it the traditional way with the guy getting on one knee and proposing.  They talked about their future, decided they wanted to get married, and bought ASP a ring.  My parents did the same thing when they got married.

Originally they had planned on a destination wedding to Las Vegas or a beach, but then her fiance’s father’s health issues ended up changing the plans.  They decided to look around the Atlanta area for a site, but just kept coming across super expensive options.  Then someone e-mailed her about a wedding opportunity that would benefit an Atlanta children’s shelter, and she thought it would be a good option.  It isn’t too expensive, the proceeds go to charity, and it is a fairly quick ceremony and reception – one hour.  They decided to go this route on October 15 – one month out from the day they will tie the knot.

And this is where I come in.  Since ASP was such a good sport and helped plan my showers, my bachelorette, and was in my wedding party, I wanted to show her how much I appreciated what she did for me by throwing her an awesome bachelorette party the weekend before her wedding.

I have a couple of ideas that I’ve come up with and discussed with some friends, but I wanted to get some of your opinions for a bachelorette party for someone who isn’t a typical bridey-bride (I hope that makes sense).

Idea 1:  Gather at someone’s house, make a nice dinner with some wine, and hire a male stripper to come over and surprise the bride!  I think that would be fun and hilarious…but how does one go about ordering one?  I’ve never done that before, so I don’t even know where to start looking!  Haha!  Are male strippers sketchy?

Idea 2:  Go out for dinner and drinks, then wind up at the Clermont Lounge – Atlanta’s trashiest and oldest strip club.  It’s a famous ATL landmark that everyone loves, and Amanda has mentioned she’d be down with going there.

So, that’s all I have for now.  If any Atlanta readers have suggestions, please let me know!  If you’ve ever thrown a bachy party for a more non-traditional friend, I’d love to hear what you did!

Thanks lovelies! 🙂

 

