Sorry for being MIA this week so far, but Monday I was out of the office for a client meeting all day, and yesterday I was laid up on the couch with a sinus infection – sweet!  My poor nose is about to fall off of my face!  And it’s so dry and flaky!

This past Saturday and Sunday, my boss hosted the entire office and our families at our mountain client for a work retreat to show us how much she appreciates all of the hard work we do.  T and I got up early on Saturday morning, picked up my co-worker Mel, and hit the road for our weekend adventure.

Of course the weekend we were headed into the mountains, it was freezing outside.  It was cold in Atlanta, so you knew it was going to be brutal 2.5 hours north.  We hit the road, and naturally it started raining, then we got stuck in traffic.  That always happens when I am driving somewhere for a lengthy amount of time!

Once we arrived at the property, it was a blustery winterish day (ok, so it may only be fall-like to my Northern readers, but 40-something as a daytime high is winter in Atlanta).  We got checked into our cottage that most of us were in – we all had separate rooms but shared a common living room.

When we got into the room, I noticed that my boss had gotten us gifts.  Sitting on the dresser was a box, which had the cutest hand-painted wine glass in it, candy, a little book of encouraging sayings, and a bottle of wine.  Along with that was a hand-written note saying how much she appreciated all of the hard work  I put in with the clients.  It was so sweet!

After we got settled, we all hurried to lunch.  I didn’t have much time (or didn’t want) to eat too much because I had a spa appointment at 2 p.m. that I was super excited about.  I ended up getting a hot stone massage, which was amazing.  Since it was cold and drizzly outside, warm stones were the perfect way to relax and de-stress.

It’s funny, I haven’t had many massages in my life but out of the 5 I’ve had, 3 of the therapists have been male.  My very first one was on a media trip, so naturally I was totally surprised when a man came out to take me to the therapy room.  It was a little awkward for me at first because I was nervous, but he did such a great job that I wasn’t weirded out by being half naked around a strange guy by the time it was over.  I guess that’s why I’m not really bothered by if the masseuse is male or female anymore.

Anyway, sorry for the tangent.  What I was getting at was that my hot stone massage was given by a guy.  If you have never had a hot stone massage, I totally recommend it.  It’s such a unique experience.  First he placed warm stones all over my back, arms and legs.  It’s funny – you notice the stones when they are first placed on you, but after a while you forget that they are there.  So when they are finally moved to a new spot, you feel like all of this weight is lifted off of you that you didn’t even know was there.  It’s a really weird but cool feeling.  The massage portion alternated between his hands, warm and cool stones, but sometimes I had a hard time discerning the difference between hands and stones.  It was bizarre!  By the time it was over, I was totally blissed out.  I really think I’m going to start getting massages once a month!

By the time we headed back to the cottage, it had started sleeting.  So that meant that we weren’t going to be doing any outdoor activities that day.  We hung out in the room for a bit, went and had afternoon tea and cookies, then checked out some football (T’s wish, not mine).

After everyone was spa-ed out, we got ready for dinner and gathered in our living room for pre-dinner drinks.  Of course all of us drank out of our pretty new glasses and put a hurting on our wine supply before we went to dinner.  We returned to the cottage after dinner to all hang out (there was a bar, but since there were some children along, we couldn’t go in there with them).  We lit a fire, poured more wine, sent the kids to play, and received funny office awards.  We were all cracking up because some of them were so out there, yet so true.

Some funny moments of the trip include:

~ the accountant’s 5-year-old son flipping our 50-something year old co-worker WWE style in the dining room during dinner – she’s very small and had had a few glasses of wine

~ T passing out before 11 p.m. and having my co-worker’s 1.5 year old climb all over him to wake him up – he didn’t budge

~ my boss’s daughters bonding with me over “G-power” – they are both UGA fans

~ me passing out in Mel’s bed “just for a minute,” which turned into 7 hours – I went to my own room at 7 a.m.

The trip was a lot of fun.  Our office is all women, so it was a good chance for all of us to bond and get to know everyone’s family members/significant others.

Has your boss or office ever done anything similar?  What are your massage preferences – male or female?

