Yesterday I met up with JD at the nail salon by my house to get a pedicure and get my eyebrows waxed before the trip.  The salon is a nice place, run by the sweetest little Asian ladies.  We all (including T – he got a manicure) actually went there before the wedding to get our nails done.  They are friendly and funny, but they are sneaky.

First of all, they are always trying to up-sell you on something.  You want just a basic pedicure – they hand you a laminated menu advertising 5 different types of upgrades.  They look at you and tell you that you have callouses, you should do the $35 treatment.  You look tense, you should add in a 10 minute massage.  After going here a few times, I’ve learned their sneaky ways.

They speak heavily accented English, but it always seems to get a little bit harder to understand them when they are up-selling you.  They speak a little softer, or they let their accents show through a little more so you have a harder time understanding them.  I learned this the hard way.

One of the first times I went there, I got a manicure, pedicure and an eyebrow wax.  As I was laying there waiting for the painful waxing process to get underway, the technician mumbled something about waxing.  I didn’t quite hear what she said, so I said yeah.  The next thing I knew, she was smearing molten wax across my upper lip to remove my “mustache.”  I, in fact, do not have a mustache.  Maybe there’s a little peach fuzz in places, but it’s not dark and you can’t see it from afar.  It doesn’t need to get waxed.  Needless to say, I left there with a red “mustache” from where the process had irritated my skin.  Lovely.

I am n0t the only one who has had an issue with waxing there.  Last summer, Little S stayed with us until she found her condo.  One day she came home from work and asked if there was a place she could get her eyebrows done.  I told her about the place I always go to, but I warned her about the mustache waxing.  She drove over and returned about 20 minutes later, with the same red “mustache.”  I started cracking up because they’d gotten her too, even after I warned her.

You may ask why I keep going there?  Well, they do an awesome job.  My toenails look wonderful.  My eyebrows are perfectly shaped and scraggle-free.  The girl probably spent 10-15 minutes waxing, shaping and plucking the strays.  Sometimes I let my hair dressers wife do them, and they never turn out as nice.  One time she made them fairly uneven, and I didn’t notice it until I got home and really looked at them in the mirror.

Have you ever had any nail salon or waxing people try to sneak one over on you?

