For the past weeks, my teeth have suddenly become über sensitive.  I’ve never been able to chomp teeth first into a Popsicle, but now when anything really cold or hot touches my upper, right side back teeth, I get this shooting pain in my mouth.  And let me tell you, it’s not very pleasant.

I have always been someone who takes super care of my teeth.  I brush twice a day, sometimes more.  I never very rarely go to bed without brushing.  And when I brush, it’s for at least 5 minutes.

I never had a cavity growing up.  I go to the dentist twice a year.  In fact, my first filling came when I was 23 or 24.  I was in for a cleaning and my dentist said my top 2 back teeth had tiny cavities, so I ended up with fillings.

When I first noticed the sensitivity, I didn’t think too much about it.  I figured I’d buy some Sensodyne and go on with my life.  But then it got worse.  Sunday night I was eating some tortellini and bit down on it.  The heat from the filling sent a jolt through the right side of my mouth I took a sip of my cold drink (clearly I was not thinking) and ended up with a second jolt.   I’m not sure which tooth it is, since it only hurts when something hot or cold touches it.

I really hope my enamel has just worn down and that’s it’s.  My coworker said something similar happened to her a few years ago and she ended up with a root canal.  😦

My appointment’s tomorrow afternoon.  I’m going for my bi-annual cleaning and to get that bad boy checked out.  Fingers crossed it’s nothing major…

