If you become really into something, do you feel yourself slightly obsessing over it?  I definitely tend to do that a lot.  If there is a book I like, I will read it non-stop.  I find it hard to put it down.  If it’s a movie I like, I watch it over and over.  If it’s a song, I will replay it till people around me probably want to punch me.  I don’t know why I get that way, but I do.

My newest book obsession was the Southern Vampire Chronicles/Sookie Stackhouse books.  I ordered the 7-book boxed set in early July and it arrived at my house on July 13.  Since then, I have read all the books in the boxed set along with books 8 and 9.  I read all of 9 yesterday actually…

They aren’t very long, and they are an easy read, but I still find it crazy that I read so many books in such a short time.  But when I really like a book, I have a really hard time putting it down.  I’ll read when I get home from work, while I eat dinner, instead of watching TV…you get the point.  Plus I am a faster reader, so that doesn’t help the process of trying to extend the length of time that I can enjoy a book.

The thing that is the hardest now is that I’ll have to wait until May 2010 for the next book.  I n most of the series books I’ve ever read, I don’t think I have started them when they first came out.  I’m usually reading them once they’ve been out a while, so I don’t have to wait for the next one.  🙂

Speaking of reading obsessions…After I read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult during college, I became hooked on her and read many of her other books.  I’ve read 8 out of the 16 she has published.

Going way old school on you guys…Remember R.L. Stine and the Fear Street books?  I was super obsessed with them growing up.  I read them non-stop.  The ones I didn’t own, I borrowed from friends.  But I do have to say, I had a pretty impressive collection.  I was really a fan of the series books -The Fear Street Saga, The Cheerleaders, Cataluna Chronicles – I think I owned them all.

Now that I just mega-geeked out on reading, what were/are some of your favorite books?  Do you read like me – super fast – or do you try to make your book last?  Are there any books you would recommend?

