Wednesday evening after work, I was sitting on my patio drinking a beer and reading From Dead to Worse (part of the Sookie Stackhouse series – which is good.  You should read it!) when I got a phone call from JD’s boyfriend Sgt. Sax.  He told me that he was coming into town to surprise JD on Thursday night.  He’s stationed about 6 hours away, so they don’t get to see each other very often.  He wanted to know if I would help him out by getting her out of the house.  I said I would because I just love surprises.

Last night I get another call from Sax letting me know he was on his way, and he’d arrive around 11-ish.  He sounded a bit bummed because JD told him that she was just planning on making dinner and vegging on the couch.  If she stayed at home, it would make it harder for him to surprise her.  I promised him I’d get her to come hang out, and that I did.

We gathered with some friends at an Irish pub and hung out.  The whole time we were there, I was texting up a storm with Sax to get his location and E.T.A.  At one point, our friend SJ grabbed JD’s phone and began texting back to Sax (they went to college together and are old friends).  This annoyed JD a bit, so she tried to steal his phone in return.  That’s when we all started to panic because SJ had also been texting Sax about the surprise.  SJ practically tackled JD and almost knocked her out of her chair to get the phone.  Luckily I was there to catch her by her head and push her back up into the chair.  What can I say?  I have cat-like reflexes – meow.

The whole night we were all acting like looney tunes, throwing popcorn across the table into each other mouths.  We were singing along to the music at the top of our lungs.  Laughing so hard we cried and our cheeks hurt.  It was an all-around good night.  I think we were all excited to see the surprise arrive.

A little after 11, I received a text from Sax saying he was here.  I grabbed JD and dragged her to the bathroom with me so Sax could sneak in and sit at our table.  Of course our timing was off, so we got back before he came in.  I decided distracting her and having her look away from the door would be the next best bet.  At that exact same moment, T saw someone doing something funny across the room, so we all turned to look.  I glanced over my shoulder just as Sax walked in.

JD turned her head and saw Sax, and I swear she almost fell out of her chair she was so excited.  It was cute to see the reunion and to be able to explain why we were all acting a little weird throughout the night.  I’m just so glad that I was able to lure her out because Sax having to call her at the gate to her complex is a little less anti-climactic then just walking into the room we were all in.  🙂

