First of all, I want to thank all of you for your helpful advice on stretches for my back.  It is starting to feel better.  Also, thanks for all of the sweet comments on my crazy pictures yesterday.  You all are the greatest! 🙂

As you all know, we have our house on the market.  That means we have to work extra hard to make sure it stays clean in case someone wants to stop in and look at it.  Well, T and I have been too obsessed with watching True Blood to do any serious house work the last few days.  Last night we finally made it through enough episodes to start watching them on On Demand and not on the computer.

We decided we should stop being lazy and clean up the kitchen.  I volunteered to finish up the kitchen if T would scoop the liter boxes.  He said that was fine and went on his way.  I was nearly done with the dishes when he finished.  I only had some cutting boards and knives left to wash.

T came over and began drying the clean dishes while I was scrubbing one of our knives.  There was a piece of garlic stuck to the blade, and I was having a really hard time getting it off.

Let me interrupt my story here – you know how clumsy I am.  I fall a lot, sprain ankles, burn myself, etc.  So, you know this doesn’t end well for me…

I was holding the knife in my right hand, scrubbing the daylights out of it.  The sponge was in my left hand, and the blade was pointed toward my left arm.  As I was scrubbing like a maniac, I thought to myself, maybe I should turn the blade the other way.  I decided against it since I had managed to get the cling on off.

That’s when the sponge slipped off the knife, and my left wrist scrapped across the blade.  I dropped the knife and sponge and looked down.  I had a gash in my wrist that instantly started bleeding.

I had a mini internal freak out because the knife hit was so close to my veins.  Luckily, the cut was right in between 2 of my veins, and it wasn’t very deep.

Poor T was freaking out – asking if he should call 9-1-1, if he needed to bandage it up for me, was I going to pass out?  I told him to stop freaking out and let me focus for a second.  The bleeding wasn’t too bad, but I still put pressure on my arm and held my wrist up so stop the bleeding.

Luckily, the injury wasn’t very deep.  It’s more like a scrape where the skin was cut back than an actual incision.  I cleaned it up by pouring some rubbing alcohol and peroxide on it.  The rubbing alcohol hurt like hell, almost worse than the cut itself.  The cut started burning as soon as the fumes seeped out of the bottle.  Yeah, that was a major ouch.  I’ve got a few band aids on it now, and it seems to be ok.

It’s still a little sore because the way my wrist hits my desk is right near the cut.  Plus angling it up to type doesn’t help either.  But I think I’m going to be alright.

And I know some of you have a super curious side to you, so I did think to take a picture before I bandaged it up.  It’s really not that bad looking, so you squeamish folks don’t have to worry.

wrist 2I’m pretty lucky it didn’t shift the tiniest bit in either direction

wrist 3But see, I’m a pretty good sport about it

I did learn an important lesson though – don’t point the knife blade at your washing hand, especially when you’re in a hurry to finish cleaning so you can go watch True Blood.

