Man, is it hard returning to work after a 3-day weekend.  I love having the time off, but at the same time feel depressed because our next official holiday is Labor Day.  And that’s 62 days away still.  Sigh…

The holiday weekend was definitely needed and much appreciated.  Thursday night we went with some friends to go see The Hangover.  Unfortunately the 8 p.m. show was sold out, so we decided to go get some drinks and hang out until the 11 p.m. show.  Of course silly little me had a few too many drinks, and by the time we were supposed to head to the movie, I didn’t want to go anymore.  We’d met up with my co-worker Mel, so JJ (former co-worker) and I stayed to hang out while the T and another friend went to the movie.

That was a bad choice.  Of course I ended up drinking way too much and felt super crappy for a large part of Friday.  Luckily I did recover enough to head to the pool for a bit.  It was my first time this season – sad I know.  I was not loving the way I looked in my bathing suit, but at least there were some other people there who should definitely not have been wearing what they were wearing.  Our friend Chris so lovingly dubbed them the “bodies by bud babes,” which cracked us all up.  And also made me feel a little less self conscious.

Later that night, we hit up the Atlanta Brewing Company for some brews.  It was a pretty relaxing early evening, which got a little crazy when some bees kept dive bombing Little S and her boyfriend.  At one point they were running up and down the parking lot, screaming like crazy people to get away from the damn thing.  It was pretty hysterical.  After ABC, we decided to head to the pool for some night swimming and drinks.

I made this thing called a bowle;  it’s like German sangria.  And it’s perfect for hot summer nights.  You take some fruit – I used raspberries and blue berries – and soak them in a little liquor – I used triple sec – and a bottle of white wine.  Let them sit for about 30 minutes (you can also do it overnight, but I didn’t think about making it until sort of late and didn’t want to wait that long).  Then top the mixture off with a bottle of champagne and about half of a 2-liter bottle of seltzer.  It is awesome.  You can basically use any type of fruit and any type of wine.  I tried to stick with drier versions to keep the next day headache away.  You can also use more wine or champagne if you have a larger group coming.  Try it – I promise you will love it! 🙂

Saturday, T and I had a breakfast date at one of our favorite Atlanta brunch spots – West Egg.  If you live in Atlanta, you better make sure you try this place.  You won’t be let down.  Afterward, we headed to the pool for a bit of 4th of July sun.  Later that night, we went to CMc’s 4th of July/birthday extravaganza where we showed off some tacky stars and stripes gear.  T wore a woman’s t-shirt with the Statue of Liberty  and sparkly pink and teal stars on the front.  I’m not sure why the stars weren’t red and blue…I made myself some super cool star flops and a stunning foam visor.  What can I say, I’m crafty!  The party was fun.  We drank, we cornholed, we beer ponged, and then we danced our asses off in the tiniest and hottest bar ever at the end of the night.

Yesterday was a veg out day.  We watched Running with Scissors.  It was pretty good, but I definitely recommend the book for the full on crazy details.  I still can’t believe it’s a true story.  Later in the evening we watched Scream 3 – so not as good as the first one.  And later started in on True Blood – season 1.  Let me just say, I’m hooked.  When the show first came out, I thought it was going to be stupid.  But we watched the first 2 episodes last night, and I can’t wait to get home and watch a few more.  I even went ahead and ordered the books today because I am dying for something good to read.  I hope they are as good as I’ve heard.

Are any of you reading the books?  Or watching the show?  I figure T and I need to just go ahead and set up our TiVo to record season 2 so we can jump right in after we finish season 1!

