So the review went alright, and surprise surprise no raise.  It’s really frustrating.  Damn this shitastic economy.  I want to make big kid wages now, not 3 years from now.

And the boss, not so thrilled about letting me have time off for Germany. She seriously went into a rage we were discussing taking time off, and was being really unreasonable – which I found completely unprofessional.  At one point she said that she has never taken 2 weeks off of work in her entire life – A. It’s not my fault she’s never taken an extended vacation.  I know plenty of people who do.  B.  She may not take 2 weeks at a time, but she definitely makes a variety of week-long travel plans throughout the year.  I know this is my job, but to me it’s more important to see my aging grandparents.  I haven’t seen them since 2007!

The bad thing is, we already booked our flights and a non-refundable hotel in Munich.  This means there is no way I’m not going.  Some of you might think that I jumped the gun about this but I have been trying to ask her about this trip since February, and she will never speak to me about it.  I’ve brought it up in meetings and even sent her our little time off sheet where all employees write down the different vacations they are planning for the year.  About a month ago I wrote her an e-mail saying that I needed time off in September to go to Germany to see my family.  I gave her some dates and never heard a response.  In my opinion, she never said no so I assumed it’s OK, especially since I have put in so much effort to talk to her about it.

Friday night, T, Little S and I were at my parents when we found sweet deals on plane tickets.  They seriously only cost $698 – which is super awesome (we used sky miles to pay for the tickets, so they ended up being almost half price!).  We visited in 2007 around the same time and paid close to $1,000 per ticket.  The opportunity was too good to pass up.  And then we got a sweet price on a nice hotel in Munich during Oktoberfest.  If we waited any longer to book, there won’t be too many hotels left at an affordable price.

We’re supposed to talk on Friday again, I’m assuming it’s regarding me taking time off.  I hate to break it to her, but I’m going no matter what.  It’s not my fault that she ignored discussing this with me for the past 3 months.  I tried to do the right thing by asking 7 months in advance, but she just kept ignoring it.

