After reading Jess’ post yesterday about buying a home, I have to admit that I caught the home buying bug a little.  So I started to do some research around the Atlanta area to see what I could find.  I stumbled across a super cute neighborhood that is in an up and coming area of the city.  Let me tell you, I am obsessed!  I want to move tomorrow.

The houses are super cute, with large patios, open floor plans, and huge kitchens (so awesome).  There is also a nature preserve in the neighborhood with walking trails – how cool is that?  The houses are a bit close to one another, but there’s not much you can do about that when you live in the city.

There are two downfalls:  1.  The price.  Since the houses are brand new construction, they are pretty pricey.  It’s not horrible, but it would definitely put a huge dent in our savings each month to pay the mortgage.  2.  The area they are in is up and coming.  The neighborhood itself looks fine.  It’s the area around the neighborhood I worry about.  I’ve heard people say some of the places in the vicinity can be pretty rough and have a high crime rate.  😦   But it could be good to move in before it becomes a super expensive hot spot.

Then there is the issue of doing something with the condo we already own.  I would love to sell it.  We got a good deal on it, and it would be great to turn a $20k profit on it that we could use as a down payment.  But I know times are tough and condos aren’t selling so well right now – especially since Atlanta keeps erecting new skyscraper condo buildings on every street corner.  Renting is also an option, but I’d much rather not have to worry about someone trashing my cute little house.

If we do actually start moving on this whole buying a home kick, we will definitely need to get our butts in gear with the renovations.  Before we moved in, in 2006, we completely redid the kitchen.  We put in new counters, wood floors, cabinets, a sink, a dishwasher and microwave.  We also replaced all the carpeting in the living room and upstairs with new carpet  and put in wood floors downstairs.  We painted everything – walls, windows, floorboards, and ceiling.

The only thing we didn’t get to because of time and money was updating the bathrooms.  The half bath downstairs is fine, but the 2 bathrooms upstairs need some major work.  The shower in the guest bath is leaking, so we can’t use it.  The walls in there are sort of stucco and painted bright yellow.  In our bathroom, the tub is meh along with the toilet and the wall paper.

I guess the good thing about thinking of buying a house is that we don’t have any excuses to not fix these items.  I don’t want to spend a ton of money, but we can definitely make the bathrooms look nice by replacing the tubs/using one of those tub cover things.

There is one more reason I am thinking it’s time for us to get a real house.  The government is giving up to an $8,000 tax credit to first time home buyers.  How awesome is that!?!  I’m hoping since I bought the house before we got married, that T would still qualify as a first timer.  Fingers crossed that, that’s the case.  That money could totally be used as a part of the down payment!

Anyone looking to buy a cute townhouse in Atlanta? 🙂

