Man, do you ever feel like your life is a never ending scene from Groundhog Day?

You wake up, (unwillingly), get dressed, go to work, spend 9 hours (or more in some cases) slaving away at work, go home, cook dinner, clean up, go to bed.  The weekends are filled with a little more variety, but not much more.  Go out with friends, go to bed, sleep all day, lounge on the couch, maybe do some chores, cook or go out to dinner, go to bed.  It’s the same old, same old.  And I am sick of it!

It just sort of hit me that in May, I will have been out of college for 4 whole years.  This means that I have only been a part of the full time world of work for 4 years.  Oh. My. God.  There are so many more years left before I can retire.

It’s so hard for me to imagine working until I’m 60-something.  That’s at least 34 more years of putting in 40-hour weeks!

I just feel like we all need a little more time off to live our lives.  There are so many things that I would love to try, do or see but I feel like it is so hard to get away.  So many people are such workaholics, and it’s really sad.

It’s great to aspire to have a super career, but that shouldn’t be the main focus of your life.  I’d much rather put my family and friends first instead of my job.  Even though I love what I do, I’m just working to survive.  I would give it up in a heartbeat (if I won the lottery) to travel the world or try something new, like opening a bar or restaurant.

I honestly don’t know how T does it.  This past month he has been putting in 70+ hour weeks, working weekends.  I think I would seriously gouge my eyes out.  I can’t even stay focused for the 8 hours a day that I work now!

I also hate coming home every night, making dinner and eating it alone while he works till 10 p.m. or later.  Some nights I’m asleep before he gets home, and it just sucks.  I still can’t fathom how a company can expect it’s employees to work such long and hard hours for almost 4 months out of the year.

I just think back to the days of my youth…my family always sat down together for dinner between 6 and 6:30.  Now I’m lucky if I get home by 6:30.  I feel like nowadays putting in the hours at work is more important than seeing your family.  Eating dinner at 8 is a totally normal occurrence for many people.

I want to know when everyone’s focus changed. When did work become so many people’s number 1 priority?  And will we ever go back to work days that end at 5, followed by family dinner at 6?

I really hope so…

