As you all may recall, neither T nor I are very religious.  In fact, we are total Catholic flunkies.  Which is part of the reason we chose to be married by the Reformed Catholic Church.  Any way, this means we really don’t participate in many overly religious traditions.  Except for this year.

I have to say, it’s gotten pretty bad.  I am a lazy mofo.  I cannot even tell you the last time I actually hit the gym.  Realistically it was probably before the wedding.  Sad, I know.

I am tired of feeling like I am packing on the pounds, which is exactly what I am doing.  Since the wedding, I have put on about 7-10 pounds.  I’m not sure of the exact amount because my weight it pretty fluctuatey (totally just made that word up), but I know it’s gone up.

Some of my pants are a little more snug than they used to be.  Some of my tighter shirts are starting to accentuate my ab flab, which is so not cute.  I am dreading putting on a bathing suit in a few months.

Plus, I know I’m not being as healthy as I could be.  Sometimes it’s just hard to break the cycle.  Growing up, I was always slender and could eat what I want.  Now that I’m older and have my ass parked at a desk for 9 hours a day, I have to realize that I can’t eat whatever I want, whenever I want.  I also need to lay off the non-light beer.  Definitely don’t need to keep drinking away my calories.

I don’t want to do anything drastic.  I will try to make healthier food decisions, which means eating out less.  Or if I do eat out, I will make sure not to eat the entire portion.  What I really need to do is get active.  There is no excuse for me being such a bum.  I’m 26.  I should be able to be in shape, be healthy, and have killer abs.

So, for Lent this year I am giving up being lazy.  I will make myself work out at least 3-4 times a week.  I will actually use my gym membership that I pay for and never reap the rewards of.  I am tired of  feeling pudgy.

I am going to track my progress on my blog.  And I want you to hold me responsible.  If you think I sound like I’m slacking off, please encourage me to get off my lazy ass!  I need some serious motivation to get this going.

Are you giving up anything for Lent?  If so, what?

