Being female is interesting sometimes.  I feel like you experience certain things that a majority of guys never do.  I love being a woman with curves and height, being able to wear a variety of clothing and shoes.  It’s nice to have so many options in life, even though I would love to be able to pee standing up.  Guys, you have no idea how lucky your are by getting to use urinals instead of hovering over nasty public toilets…shudder.

Anyway, being female definitely has it’s perks, but it also has it’s downfalls as well.  I consider myself to be an attractive person.  I’m tall, slender with a big chest, and I’m happy with my looks.  My husband has no complaints (he’s hot too so neither do I 🙂 )  Apparently other guys don’t either.

This morning, I was walking into Chick-fil-a (heaven on earth!) to get some breakfast because I had a serious craving for a buttery chicken biscuit.  I went inside, picked up my food, and walked back to my car.  Let me preface this by saying what I’m wearing today – I have on a shortish red sweater dress with gray leggings, gray boots, and at that time I was wearing a gray fleece that was zipped up – it’s nothing fancy or too revealing.  As I’m heading across the parking lot, sipping on my diet Dr. Pepper, I hear it

“Hey girl!  How are you doing today?”  Stare, stare, stare…

I turned my head to see a carload of construction guys piling out of a car, staring over at me.  I said fine and got into my car.  I’m not a bitchy person, and to be nice will normally answer a question if the person or people aren’t too sketchy, but I’m married.  I’m not trying to pick up guys.  And even if I was, it would not be in the parking lot of the best fast food restaurant ever.

Other times I can be at the ATM getting money or walking into a store, and I will hear a honk or a holla from a guy(s) in a passing car.  It makes me laugh, and reminds me of when I was 16 and we were first driving and yelling at cute guys.  But these people are grown men.   Seriously?  Get some game man.  You will never pick up a girl by honking and telling her she has a hot ass as you fly by in your car.  And the other thing, a lot of times the people doing the honking and yelling are the less attractive ones.  You very rarely see a super attractive guy hanging his head out of the car window, howling like a dog at a pretty girl.  And you know why that is?  It’s because he has game and can meet people in a one on one setting.  Learn something from the hot guys, creepy honking howlers!

It is nice to know that people find you attractive, but at the same time it gets old getting cat called all of the time.  I appreciate it much more when someone tells me I look nice or I am pretty.  It seems a lot more genuine, and not so skeevy.

You want to know what really bugs me?  When I’m in the grocery store and am not feeling well, and am looking schlumpy and someone tries to hit on me.  Seriously?  I look like shit.  No I don’t want to talk to you.  I want to get my food and get the hell out of here.  Leave me alone.

You know what I think?  It’s time we give guys some of their own medicine.  Let them know what it feels like to be constantly hollered and honked at.  And the way to do it…it’s called “Hey Boy.”  A bunch of my friends play this game when we get together, and basically it involves you shouting “Hey boy, let me holla at you!” and see if they turn around.  If they look, you get a point.  The winner is the girl with the most looks at the end of the night.  To kick it up a notch, you can even add in “I need 10 things from you.  1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10, them digits” and see if you get a number.  It’s stupid and corny, but a lot of fun.  And it turns the table on the guys who always “hey girl” you.

That’s the goofy way my girl friends and I deal with cat calls.  What do you do?  What is your reaction when someone honks or hollers at you?

