Ok ok, I know I’m being a bit dramatic, but it’s my blog and I can do what I want!

As some of you may remember, I am planning a few trips for 2009.  The problem is that I work in a really small office.  There are 5 of us (the boss, 2 full time girls, and 2 part time girls).  This always seems to make taking time off for extended vacays a bit of an issue.  Mel (the other full time girl) and I try to make sure that we schedule our trips during different weeks so we don’t leave the office in such a lurch because we’re nice like that.  But still, it’s a pain in the ass.  The other part time girls basically just say, “I need this time off”  or “I will be gone on these days.”  I sometimes feel like it doesn’t work that way for Mel and me.

So here are my questions for you.

To me option 1 feels like you are asking a parent for permission, which I don’t like in a work environment.  I’m leaning towards option 2.

See, the reason this is a bit of an issue to me is that I’ve always worked in small companies, so there never really has been a real procedure to follow when requesting time off.  I know in some places you fill out a form and have to get it approved.  In T’s case, he just marks dates off on an online scheduling system, and he is good to go.

I don’t want my boss to feel like I’m taking advantage of her by just telling her I’m taking time off, because I’m not trying to do that.  Plus I have time that I am allowed to take.  But at the same time, I don’t want to feel like I’m asking permission to live my life.  I don’t want to ask, and have to wait forever for a response because she responds with “we’ll see how everything is going closer to the time you want to go.”  I want to start planning and booking things now, especially if I find a good deal on something.  You know what I mean?

