This weekend was one of those where you crammed in a whole bunch of stuff that you don’t normally do, and it was awesome.  I had so much fun, I didn’t want it to end yesterday.

Friday night, T and I decided to have a dinner and a movie date.  We found a theater in Atlanta that served food and drinks, so we opted to go there.  It was really nice, much nicer than I had expected.  The theater had recently been converted to a dinner theater, so everything was nice and new.  The prices for food and drinks were very reasonable, much more reasonable than going to a normal movie theater and spending $14 on popcorn and a drink.

We decided to see The Uninvited since we are both scary/suspense movie fans.  Let me tell you, it was an awesome movie!  We couldn’t stop talking about it after we’d left the theater.  If you want to see a really great movie, I totally recommend it.  It’s one of the better scary films I’ve seen lately.  A lot of the scary films that are released these days are more of a let down/cheesey than a good watch.

After the movie, we met up with a bunch of friends for bowling.  I always forget how much I like to bowl, until I do it.  It’s been months since I’ve last bowled, and even though we only got to play one game (we had 8 people in our lane – one game took 1.5 hours), we had a lot of fun.  I even broke 100!  Normally it takes me a a warm up game to score that high.

Saturday was a day filled with culinary mastery!  I’d seen a really great recipe for soup and paninis on Tyler’s Ultimate, so T and I decided we would make them ourselves.  We went to Whole Foods and spent a small fortune bought the ingredients for our meal, then headed home to cook up some delicious lunch.  We made his Ultimate Chicken Noodle Soup and Mozzarella Grilled Cheese, and they were so good!  The soup was a twist on chicken noodle, and it used cheese tortellini and chicken meatballs.  The sandwiches used fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and homemade pesto.  It was our first time ever making pesto, and it turned out well (go T!).

20090207145230

I just read a review that stated the recipe for the chicken meatballs left out the breadcrumbs.  Haha, no wonder I had some trouble getting them to stick together.  They were more like blobs than balls, but they still tasted amazing!  See the chicken blobs in the soup?

Saturday night, we got a big group together to do Korean Karaoke.  If you have never done this before, it is one of the best ways to karaoke, especially if you are shy about singing in front of strangers.  Basically, you rent out a room with friends and have your very own karaoke show.  You get to pick the songs, and a lot of the rooms have special added features like disco balls and colored lights that start up every time you start singing a song.  It’s hilarious, especially when you pick weird ass songs that everyone knows but is sometimes embarrassed to say they like.  We ended up singing for about 3 hours.  I’m seriously surprised that I had a voice yesterday!

Sunday T and I branched out and went to the ballet to see Dracula.  I love the movie, so I thought the ballet would be a fun way to experience the story.  It was cool, even though I got a little tired of the gratuitous dancing scenes.  I know it’s supposed to be about dancing, but there was this one tea party scene where the story basically stopped and everyone just danced for like 15 minutes.  We both enjoyed ourselves, even though T had a hard time not cracking up during some of the acts.  Some parts featuring Dracula and the other male characters were really sexual and slightly bizarre, and I could hear him fighting back laughter.

Sunday night, we busted out some more of our culinary skills and made Roast Leg of Lamb with Dark Beer, Honey and Thyme for dinner.  Apparently this was a Tyler Florence weekend since this was another one of his recipes.  We were a little nervous about preparing lamb since neither one of us had done it before, but it turned out well.  The sauce was a little sweet, so next time we’ll probably use a little less honey.  We roasted asparagus and made garlic mashed potatoes with it.  We still have a ton of lamb left, so we’ll be having it for dinner again.

So, how was your weekend?  Did you do anything exciting or different? 🙂

