Sorry to leave all of you guys without any glorious readings for the past few days.  I’ve been super busy at work, helping my boss with something while she’s been out of town.  Then once I get home, I’m just a lump on the couch until bed time.  It’s been freezing out, and I’m exhausted.   I know, sometimes I lead a super exciting life!

Last night I decided to try a new recipe for dinner that I saw on the lid of my feta cheese container.  It’s called Chicken Feta Pizza.  It’s a fairly simple recipe that uses pre-cooked chicken strips, garlic and herb feta, a pizza crust, mozzarella cheese and tomatoes.  The recipe sounded good enough on its own, but I decided to spice it up a little.

First of all, the pizza was sauceless.  I was a little worried that it would end up being dry in the end if there was no sauce, but I didn’t even notice after I chomped in to the finished product.  The recipe said you needed to brush the crust with some olive oil.  I kicked it up a notch (sorry Emeril for stealing your lingo) and added some garlic paste to the oil before brushing it on my crust.  This was a good idea.

I love cheese and chicken, but I thought the pizza needed some veggies as well.  So I decided to wilt some fresh spinach to top it with.  Then for kicks, I added black olives and mushrooms because I love them so much.  I finished the bad boy with the feta, mozzarella and some Parmesan cheeses and popped it into the oven on my pizza stone for 12 minutes.

The result, mouth-watering amazingness.  Want to see?

pizza Mmm, nom noms!

The best part is that I still have 2 slices left over for lunch today and the remaining pizza ingredients to make a yummy spinach salad for lunch tomorrow.  Yeah I know, I rock! 😉

When you cook something (new), do you follow the recipe to a T?  Or do you use it for inspiration then just do your own thing?

I tend to be a “use it for inspiration” type of girl myself.  So far it’s always ended well, so I think I’ll stick to it! 🙂

