Since T and I do our fair share of eating out, I decided that I will start a little restaurant review on my blog.  I know many of you aren’t in Atlanta, but if you visit you’ll have the inside scoop from me!  I will try to make this a weekly feature, covering all types of Atlanta Eats.

Last night, T and I decided to try out Richard Blais’ new restaurant Flip.  It’s located in a fairly industrial area in Atlanta, so it caught my attention early on when we’d drive by because it didn’t really blend into its surroundings.  I’d heard the hype and read the reviews, and was so excited to check it out.

We got there around 8 p.m. last night, and the place was packed!  That’s always a good sign in my book.  We were told the wait would be about 45 minutes, so we headed over to the bar to order some drinks.  T ordered a Manhattan and I chose the Peach Sweet Tea, which was awesome and made with Firefly Vodka!

While we waited, we had time to soak in the atmosphere.  The restaurant isn’t very large (hence the wait time), but it has a very hip feel to it.  There are a few larger, couchesque booths along the side wall for bigger groups.  The tables in the center comfortably seat 4.  There is a long bar area where you can choose to dine or just have a drink .  Behind the bar, the walls are lined with mirrors and flatscreen TVs in chunky white picture frames.  The music is a little loud, but I liked the songs so I didn’t really mind it.  There is a fairly large patio, which I’m sure will be a huge hit when the weather warms up.

We were seated at the burger bar (not sure if that’s its name, but that’s what I’m calling it).  Think sushi bar without the fish.  We had front row seats with a view into the kitchen where we could watch all the tasty burger assembly happen.

I ordered the Shrimp Po Boyger, which is a twist on the classic New Orleans sandwich.  My patty was made of shrimp and topped with an Old Bay Mayo, fried lemon, lettuce and some hot sauce.  For a side I chose the Vodka Battered Onion Rings.  T went for the Lamburger, which as its names states is made up of ground lamb.  It’s topped with a yogurt sauce, olive relish, raisin ketchup and mint.  He went with Fried Rutabagas for his side, which I can say I don’t think I’ve ever tried till last night.

Our food came out pretty quickly, so we dove right in.  The onion rings were fried to perfection.  They were nice and crispy and were well seasoned.  They tasted great when I dipped them into the Old Bay Mayo that came with my sandwich.  My burger was delicious.  The shrimp patty had a unique texture, but the whole thing really packed a flavorful punch (especially the little fried lemon).  It was juicy without being greasy and filling without leaving me stuffed.

T’s burger was amazing as well.  The lamb was cooked perfectly, so it wasn’t dry.  And the combination of the tangy toppings  with the gamy flavor of the lamb made it a hit.  T’s rutabagas were crunchy and mouth-watering, especially when we dipped them into the sweet sauce.

We tried to save room for dessert, but we were stuffed.  So we ordered a Nutella Milkshake to go.  At the end of the bar, there is a little milkshake station where these tasty treats are whipped up using liquid nitrogen.  The end result is a super creamy, frosty shake.  Our Nutella version was topped with burnt marshmallows, a la s’mores style.  The milkshake was divine.  We drank most of it on our 5 minute car ride home!

Overall, Flip gets 2 thumbs up from me!  I totally recommend it for a date night or a gathering with friends.  Its tasty burgers, sides, shakes, drinks and funky setting make it the perfect place to chill out!

