Tuesday after work Little S invited me over to her house to hang out and have dinner.  I almost said no because T was getting back into town, but I hadn’t been to her new house in months.  Plus I wanted to see all of the improvements she’d done and her new furniture.  She lives about 10 minutes from where I work, so I just zipped over once I got off.

We decided to make an original creation for dinner.  We chose bow-tie pasta with mushrooms, zucchini, asparagus and shrimp in a homemade fra diavolo sauce.  We just made it up as we went along, but damn was it tasty.  And really simple to make.  We just sauteed the veggies then the shrimp in olive oil and garlic.  For the sauce, we sauteed some garlic and crushed red pepper flakes in olive oil, then added some dried Italian seasoning and white wine.  Once the wine cooked off, we added a large can of crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper, more Italian seasoning then about half a cup of chicken stock to thin it out.  We mixed the shrimp, veggies, sauce and pasta together and ended up with the most awesome pasta ever!

We enjoyed a few varieties of pinot grigio with our dinner over laughs and boy talk.  Once we finished eating and were feeling a little tipsy, we decided we would starts smelling our wine and try to guess the different aromatics.  Here we were, sitting at her dining room table, swirling our wines and sticking our noses into the glasses, trying to guess the different essences.  We must have looked like total tool bags!

After that special activity, I decided I probably shouldn’t drive the 20 minutes back home and should just crash at her house.  Unfortunately she is about 4 inches shorter and 4-5 sizes smaller than me, so I couldn’t borrow her clothes.  Normally at work I wear jeans and a cute top.  But on Tuesday I was dressed up for a client meeting, so it would be way too obvious if I wore the same clothes Wednesday.  We decided we needed a little more wine, since one and a half bottles wasn’t quite enough, so we headed around the corner to Walmart.

We rolled into Walmart like drowned rats because it started pouring right as we got into the car.  I looked especially cool in Adidas pants that were too short, a small T-shirt and flip flops.  While we were there, I was able to buy a toothbrush and an outfit for work the next day (which I got a compliment on from my co-worker).  Of course we picked up some more wine so we could go back home and play Rock Band.  We stayed up till 1:30 a.m. rocking out.  Let me tell you, Wednesday was no fun.  But it was awesome to get to work in 10 minutes.

Another reason why Little S rocks my socks off is beacuse she bought us a flatscreen TV for our bedroom last night – we are paying her back for it.  There was a huge sale at HH Gregg, and she was going to buy a new TV for herself before the sale ended.  I jokingly asked her to pick us up one while she was there, and she said yes.  So now we have a lovely new 32 inch LCD TV for our bedroom that we got for a steal!  The one we originally wanted was out of stock, but she was able to get us a different one for the same price!  Woot!

Now we just have to get someone to install cable in our bedroom…

