I have never really liked musicals.  They actually annoy me, a lot.  I can take a few songs in a movie, but constant singing irritates the living hell out of me!  I always try to give them a chance, but in the end I wind up bored or disappointed.  I’m only talking about movie musicals since I don’t go to see them performed live.

For example, almost everyone I know loved Chicago.  Me, I thought it was a bit long with way too much singing.  I’d much rather the characters just have a normal conversation instead of serenading each other constantly and dancing around.  I’ve seen it once, but I doubt I’ll ever watch it again.

Last night, I tried to push my dislike aside and give another popular musical a shot.  I’ve heard people rant about how Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is such a great musical, so I watched it.  And?  I thought it was ok.  The story was good, in an eerie way, but I feel like the singing takes away from the horror of it all.  It’s a terrible story about a murderous barber and friend who turn the corpses into meat pies.  I told T the premise of the whole thing, and he was baffled.  He said the story “sounds cool, except for the singing.”  I totally agree.  I felt like most of the songs are too cheery, even the darker ones, taking away from the horror the story actually portrays.

What are your thoughts on musicals?  Love ’em?  Hate ’em?  Have a favorite?  I feel like I’m not a real girl since I despise them so much, so I always give them a chance to see what happens.  Are there any musicals out there that are less singy that someone like me might enjoy?

