Fado is our cute, slinky little black kitty.  He recently turned 3 years old, but still looks like a kitten.  He barely pushes 10 pounds, and I often wonder if he will ever get bigger.  He is pretty long (and tall when he stands on his back paws) but he’s so slim for a male cat.  I wonder if he’ll ever get a jiggly belly.  Probably not (why can’t I be that lucky?).

Even though he is small, he can be quite the terror.  Some of our friends have nicknamed him Destructor because he is like a small black tornado tearing through the house, destroying everything in his path.

And now I give you an extra special glimpse into his awesome, fun-filled life from his perspective, since he can’t type this on his own.

7:30 a.m.Beep, beep, beepI slowly stretch my cramped legs from sleep in between T and Bing all night. What is that sound?  Shake, shift, roll. Damn it guys, stop moving.  Can’t a cat get some sleep around here?  Pet, scratch. Oh, I like when Bing scratches me under my chin.  Purr, purr, drool.  I’m gonna crawl into her lap and go back to sleep.  Floating through the air. How did I up get here?  Flop onto the bed. Where is she going?

7:45 a.m. – Why is the bathroom door closed?  I want in.  Scratch, scratch, meow. What are you doing in there?  Let me in!  Door opens. I’m in.  Hmm, I’m thirsty.  Jump onto the counter.  Turn on the water.  Water on.  Yes.  Drink, drink, drink.

7:50 a.m.Where’s Bing?  Wait, I hear more water running.  She must be behind that curtain.  Maybe I can get some more water.  Spastically shove shower curtain out of the way.  Oh, I found her.  Hi mom!  I’m going to hang over the edge of the bathtub until she gets out.  Wet hand pushing my face away. What the hell?!?  Fine, I’ll lay on the floor next to the shower.

8:00 a.m. – I’m over the bathroom.  Meow, meow. Let me out of here.  Door opens. Freedom.  Oh, T is still sleeping, I’m going to lay back down.  Sleep…

8:30 a.m. – Why’s it so dark in here all of a sudden?  Eyes open. Oh, Bing’s going downstairs.  Pounce off the bed. Yes, outside time.  Outside, outside, outside!  Hauling tail into the kitchen, meow. Please let me outside mom!  Mom, I want to go out.  Now!!!  Meow, howl, banging on the blinds. I’ll keep doing this until you let me out woman.  Come on.  I want to go out now!!!  Hey, where is she going?  Front door closes.

8:30 a.m.-6:15 p.m. – Eat, sleep, play, eat, sleep, play…

6:20 p.m. Car pulling up in front of the house.  Is that mom?  Let me climb in the window.  Climbing, meowing. Hi mom!  Hi!  Look at me.  I want to go outside.  Keys in the door, unlocking it.  Meow, meow…running to the front door. Welcome home!  Let’s eat dinner!  Time to go outside!

6:20-6:30 p.m.Meow, meow, meow. Stop sitting down.  We need dinner.  Hey, I’m thirsty.  Turn on the faucet.  Can I play outside now?  You have to go to the bathroom?  Me too!  Wait for me.  Meow, meow, meow. Let’s go upstairs.  Running up the stairs. You’re so slow, come on!

6:35 p.m. Food bowl is on the floor.  Scarf, scarf, scarf. Now I can go play outside.  Mooom!  Meow, howl, banging on the blinds.  Door opens. Yes!  I’m outside, suckers.

*During the evening hours, Fado comes in and out about 5 times.  He can never make up his mind about whether he wants to be in or out.*

11:15 p.m.T and Bing are heading upstairs to go to bed. Bed time!  Here I come.  Wait for me!

11:20 p.m.T and Bing are getting ready for bed in the bathroom. What are they doing in there?  Oh, I want to lay in the sink so I can hang out.  Jump into the sink. Wait, I need some water first.  Meow, meow. Turn it on since I have no hands!  Slurp, slurp, slurp. Done!  Now I can lay in the sink.  Wait, how did I get on the floor?

11:25 p.m. – I’ll go lay in the bed.  Yeah, sprawl out.  I’m too big to curl into a tiny spot.  I need to spread out.  Laying down to go to sleep.

11:45 p.m. –  Oh, mom’s in bed under the blankets.  I know!  I climb up and sleep on her.  I love to snuggle.  Climbs onto Bing and settles in. I’m so happy.  Purr, purr, droolsleep.

*And that is what life with Fado is like.  Sometimes he even decides that it’s time to go outside in the middle of the night, so he starts banging on the bedroom blinds.  This results in banishment to the hallway.*

1229087526291

This is what I do when you guys are at work!  Suckers! – Fado

