When I went to the doctor the other week to have my ankle looked at, he recommended that I do some physical therapy to strengthen it up so I can prevent further injuries.  I agreed, and went to my first therapy session today.  I felt a little guilty since no one is in my office, and I’m supposed to be here at 9 but it’s been dead so I decided to keep the appointment.

I got to the therapy place and met my therapist Mark.  He was a really nice guy, who was informative and had me laughing at the lack of strength in my poor right ankle.  When I first got there, he had me take my sock and shoe off so he could look at it.  My toenails?  Are less than stellar.  I really need a pedi.  Maybe I’ll paint them next time so they don’t look so meh, even though I’m sure he’s seen feet that are much worse looking.  Anyway, he had me move my foot in a few directions so he could measure what levels of strength and flexibility my ankle was at.  It’s not great due to the fact that I had been very careful to not wiggle it around too much to let it heal.

He asked me to pull it back towards me, like a right angle, and it only moved to 6 percent.  It’s supposed to be at 10 percent.  When I pointed it, it barely moved.  I’ve never danced, but I used to be able to point my toes like a mo-fo (because I have super high arches), so much so that I bet it would make a ballerina jealous.    🙂  I can still do it very well with my left foot, but my right is pretty pathetic, especially now.  It’s probably because I’ve sprained it so many times.  I’m hoping this will help get it back to its pre-sprain(s) pointability.

After that, we began the therapy.  I had to stretch it by wrapping a towel around my foot and pulling it towards me.  One of the hardest things was rotating my ankle.  I was telling my muscles and ankle to rotate clockwise then counterclockwise, and it wasn’t moving.  I was seriously tempted to start doing the exercises with my left foot just so I could “show” the right one how to do it.  But I didn’t.  I also had to pick up a bunch of marbles with my toes (I felt like a monkey doing this), which wasn’t too hard.  I had to rock my foot onto tip toes then lift the toes while keeping the heel on the ground.  Mark also gave me this giant rubber band-like thing that I will use to provide some resistance when I do some stretching moves.  Twisting it to the right was so hard.  I thought I had mastered it when he told me that I was actually using my hip to rotate it (damn).  Then I had to concentrate extra hard to get it to make the correct windshield wiper motion, as he called it.

My favorite part of the whole thing was at the end when he stretched out my foot and ankle, especially my toes.  They’ve been feeling so tight, especially the last two.  Now I feel like they are more wiggly.  I also learned why I get such gnarly foot cramps.  Since I have such high arches, when I wear flatter shoes it causes the muscles in my arch to tense up, resulting in the cramp.  Supposedly wearing heels is better since they make my foot into a more natural shape for my arch and give some support.  But we all know how clumsy I am, so I’m not sure that’s the best idea either.

I have another appointment next week, so I’ll keep you posted on my progress (I know you are all so excited to know about my ankle’s strength and flexibilty).  😉

