As you may know, my birthday was on Saturday.  I turned a whopping 26 years old.  Crazy, I know.  Originally I had made all of these plans for fun things that I wanted to do, but things got a little shaken up after Friday night’s events.

It rained off and on all day on Friday.  Since it was gross out, we decided to hang out close to home.  One reason was that I didn’t want to be out late, and the other was to celebrate mourn the fact that JD was moving to her new condo this weekend.  About 15 minutes away.  We figured a night at Fox would be the perfect ending to her time in the neighborhood.

We had a group of friends together, chatting, laughing, doing birthday shots.  It was all a lot of fun.  Around midnight, we decided to head back to the house to play Rock Band.  As we pulled into the parking lot, I saw Fado running around outside.  Naturally, I went to go catch him to bring him inside.  I walked towards him on the front lawn area, and he bolted towards the front door.  I thought everything was fine and followed him.  Then things went down hill.

We have this huge oak (I think) tree right in front of our condo.  During this time of the year, it drops it’s acorns all over the damn place.  The bad thing is, they lose their tops and turn into death acorns.  They are so round, it’s like they are giant marbles.

In my haste to get inside from the cold with the cat, I stepped on one of those lovely little acorns and lost my footing.  Of course I was in my slouch boots, which have very little ankle support.  I started to feel my left ankle twisting, so I stepped more weight onto the right foot to avoid disaster.  Bad choice.  Instead of helping, my right ankle rolled, causing me to face plant in the front yard.  Thank God it was midnight and no one was outside.  I ended up with one really sprained ankle (the right one) and one slightly sore ankle (the left one).  Like I’ve said before, I am super graceful!

The right ankle is my weak one, due to all of the prior sprainings it’s been through at the hands of my clumsiness.  Now it’s fat and disgusting.  And it caused me to change my birthday plans.  Instead of dinner out at the Spice Market, we opted to stay in.  ASP cooked some amazing pork tenderloin and sides with T’s help.  Then we headed back to Fox because I was scacred that walking and being in a crowded bar without seats would be a bad choice.  I ended up having a great night, which I wasn’t sure would happen.

After the fall, right before I went to sleep, I went into hysterics.  I kid you not.  I was sobbing and blubbering like a bitch because I was upset that my ankle ruined my birthday.  And PMS to that and you end up with a crying, snotty-faced mess.

And in case you’re curious about what it looks like today, here are some pictures.

1226956425566

1226956471854

