On Saturday I turn 26, which seems a little strange to me.  As a kid, I remember thinking this age was so far away, it almost seemed as if centuries would pass before I ever got that old.  And now I’m here.  On the brink of 26, and in a way I guess I’m a lot different than the version I would have imagined when I was 8.

My parents married young, my mom not quite 21 and my dad on the verge of 22.  They had me at age 24 and Little S at 27.  As a child, I’d imagined my life going in a similar direction.  Little did I know that times and circumstances were different then, and the path that I would eventually end up on wouldn’t match their path so closely after all.

At 21, I was in my junior year of college.  T and I had decided to go on a break.  I was single and partying, the thought of marriage nowhere near my flighty mind.  At 24, I was hating my life at McHell.com.  T had just finished up grad school, was starting work.  We hadn’t even really discussed marriage, let alone starting a family.

At 25 we finally married, after 8.5 years of dating.  We are happy where we are right now.  Discussions about starting a family have been had, but we both know we want to wait a few years before having kids.  I could wait till my late 20s and he until 30.  I guess we’ll see what happens, and where the rest of our friends are.  I know it sounds strange, but I would like to have children around the times that some of my other friends are, so we can all be sort of on the same page in life.

In my (almost) 26 years, I have learned a lot, made some mistakes, broken hearts, but I know there are still so many things that I have left to do.  So, I’ve decided to share with you some of my accomplishments and the things I still hope to experience.

Been There Done That

  • Lived in a foreign country
  • Learned more than one language
  • Met the love of my life
  • Married that love
  • Had my heart broken
  • Had my heart healed
  • Broken some hearts
  • Held grudges
  • Been über forgiving
  • Studied abroad
  • Got a Brazilian (ow)
  • Owned a condo
  • Gotten a diploma
  • Graduated college
  • Adopted rescue kitties
  • Worked at a job I hated
  • Worked at a job I loved
  • Made friends that I will never forget
  • Lost touch with friends over the years
  • Owned my own Christmas tree and decorations
  • Traveled in Europe
  • Lied/cheated (not on a person)
  • Broken some laws (who hasn’t?)
  • Swam in glacier run-off water (that was cold)
  • Been to Oktoberfest
  • Gotten published

Still Need the T-Shirt

  • Travel to Asia
  • Travel all around Europe for an extended period of time
  • Start a family
  • Drive a really fast car
  • Drive on the Autobahn in that really fast car
  • Win the lottery
  • Buy a real house
  • Adopt a dog
  • Make a remarkable difference in someone’s life
  • Skydive (I waver on this one)
  • Own my own company (waver on this a little too)
  • Swim with dolphins
  • Swim with Shamu (probably will never happen, but a girl can dream)

That’s all I can think of for the moment.  If there’s anything else you’ve done that you think I’m missing out on, let me know.

I’m off to enjoy my last day and a half of being 25!

