Happy Halloween readers!  I don’t know about you, but I am super excited about getting all dressed up this weekend.  I have two costumes that I will be sporting.  The first one is for tonight and is based on Chun Li from the video game Street Fighter (I’m not a huge video game player, except when it comes to Rock Band and fighting games).  This is the first real costume I’ve purchased in a long time.  I just hope people know who I am!  My second costume is for mine and JD’s super awesome Halloween/birthday extravaganza, Spooktacular.  We are going as dead/zombie homecoming court members.  I’m really excited to make my face up in a totally disgusting manner!  Pictures to come on Monday!

Last night, JD and I finally lived up to the promise we’ve been making to ourselves about carving pumpkins.  We kept talking about it, but never went through with it.  We decided to stock up on supplies for Saturday’s party and get pumpkins to put our carving skills to the test.  Well, the first 2 stores we went to were completely out of pumpkins.  How do you sell out of pumpkins the day before Halloween?  Maybe it’s because we live in the city and not the burbs.  We finally found some pretty half-assed pumpkins at a 3rd store, so we stocked up.  And let me tell you, they were not your normal carving pumpkins.

First, we picked up a baggie (wasn’t big enough to be considered an actual bag) of 3 mini pumpkins.  They looked like they are meant to be centerpiece making items, but we figured we (and T) could each carve one.  Then we could set them on the table at our party as centerpieces.  🙂  We also decided to pick up some Cinderella pumpkins, the only larger variety that seemed to exist in Atlanta last night.

If you are like me, you have no idea what these special pumpkins look like, so I will show you some in their pre-carved state.

Aren’t they the cutest pumpkins ever?

Cinderella, dressed in yellow (or orange in this case).

As you can see, these are not your normal, bulbous carving pumpkins.  They are small and weirdly shaped, making for quite the interesting carving experience.  The only utensil that could cut through these bad boys was the little pumpkin carving saw from the kit.  I’m not even kidding!  Serrated bread knife…nope.  Butcher knife…nope.  Since they were so oddly shaped, we couldn’t use fancy carving patterns.  This left us with the free hand option which, resulted in very special looking pumpkins.

Aren’t they special?

All lit up!

Happy Halloween!

