Today I met up with my sister (Little S) and her boyfriend (JT) for lunch.  I work near a very ethnically diverse area – there are a lot of Vietnamese, Chinese, Thai and Japanese restaurants.  A lot of them are very authentic, while others are more Americanized.  Today we decided to go Chinese and eat dim sum.

I’ve never had dim sum before, so I was excited.  TJ, who is half Chinese, explained that dim sum is basically like tapas.  You order a lot of dishes in small portions and share them with the rest of your table.  I knew it was pretty authentic from the second we walked in because there were a lot of Chinese diners ordering in Chinese.  I don’t know if you judge international cuisine this way, but I do.  For example, I won’t go to a crappy restaurant for German food.  I will only eat there if it’s good.  If it’s not, I’ll make it at home.  I’m sure a lot of other people think this way too.

We sat down and ordered hot tea (which continued to burn my mouth throughout lunch – it never cooled down) and waited for the waiters to come by with the dim sum cart.  The first cart that rolled by was loaded with an assortment of items that I couldn’t identify.  There were a variety of buns, bready items and some strange white and green spongy things.  We skipped these dishes and waited for the steamer cart.

The steamer cart finally came by, and thank God we had JT there with us.  We weren’t sure about what a lot of the items were, but he was able to help us avoid the weirder choices.  We settled on a variety of shrimp and pork rolls and dumplings, spring rolls and these really tasty and fried rolls wrapped in bacon.  Bacon seriously makes everything better!  Everything was really tasty, and I was totally impressed.  I would definitely go back there again for lunch or dinner.

We were getting pretty full but decided that we wanted to branch out and try something exotic.  We opted for fried chicken feet.  JT assured us that they weren’t that bad and tasted like chicken.  Little S and I reluctantly took bites.  It’s weird to eat something in a foot shape.  It didn’t taste bad, but it was bony and difficult to eat.  I don’t think I’d ever get it again, but at least I can say I tried it.  One of the waitresses walked by and was impressed when she saw us eating it.

The funniest moment of lunch had to be when we first sat down.  One of the waitresses walked over to Little S and me and laid forks down next to our plates.  JT didn’t get one.  I guess she was worried that the white folks might not be able to master choptsicks.  Haha!  We did fine though.  The only time I used the fork was to eat the chicken foot.  I was afraid I would have a spastic moment and send it flying across the restaurant when I bit into it or that it would land on my white sweater.  That wouldn’t have been fun.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten or tried?

