Today my co-worker Mel and I decided to vote early to avoid some of the craziness that is sure to ensue on November 4.  Question:  My readers in other states, are you able to vote early?

We left work at 1:30, and we hampered by the rain.  After about 20 minutes, we arrived at the early voting polling place.  We were worried at first because we thought the lines would be outside, which would have been awful since it was rainy and cold today.  Luckily (or so we thought) we weren’t outside for more than 5 minutes.  Then the real fun began.  We snaked through the building, down narrow hallways crammed with early voters.  The hallways were like mini saunas.  With all of the people in such a tight place, plus the heat and our sweaters, Mel and I thought we may pass out at points.

Finally we made it to the stairwell and were led up to the top floor.  We thought we had reached the voting room.  Oh no, we were being ushered into a courtroom to fill out our early voting paperwork.  The woman who was leading us around was a bit odd.  She kept yelling at people who didn’t wait at the top of the stairs.  She ordered Mel to stay at the top of the stairs until she told her to move, and to not let the rest of the group pressure her to leave the stairs.  What the hell did she think the crowd would do?  Bum rush Mel?  The woman was bizarre.  Once we got into the courtroom, she would get super bitchy if people started talking.  Half the room had already filled out their papers, and she was instructing the new batch of voters.  At one point she turned to this man who was talking to the guy next to him and stopped talking.  Then she said, “Go ahead.  I’ll wait till you finish.”  It was like we were in kindergarten!

Finally, after 2.5 hours, we cast our votes.  This took a whole 5 minutes.  But I am glad that we got it over with.  I’ve heard that lines on election day may be up to 6 hours long, and I definitely would not want to stand around all day.  I just wonder if this will deter people from voting.  I really hope not.  Waiting in line sucked, but Mel and I made the best of it.  We chatted and made friends with the people around us.  Some people brought books or played games on their phones.  One lady even had a fold up chair with her.  She was smart.

If you can vote early, I totally reccommend it.  Even though I won’t hit the polls on the 4th, my eyes will be glued to the TV all day, hoping to God that Obama and Biden kick some republican ass!

