Wedding

Last night when I got home, I noticed a little brown package leaning against my front door.  At first glance I thought it was the new joint checks that T and I ordered last week, but upon further examination I realized that it was our wedding DVDs.  Yay!

Out of curiosity I went ahead and opened it, instead of waiting for T to get home.  We received 4 copies of edited footage and 2 copies of the entire unedited footage.  I can’t wait to watch both!  Once I pried (and I literally had to pry) open the box, I was met with some disappointment.  There was a typo on the label.  My maiden name is often confused with a synonym for sugary, and that’s what was printed on the label.  Not cool.  That’s why you double check things before you send them out.  I popped in the video, hoping the typo was just on the label.  Nope, it’s on the DVD footage too.  So I e-mailed the company and told them to correct it and send me 6 new copies.  It’s a bit of a hassle, but it’s not the end of the world.  I can totally give some of the typo-ed versions to friends to they can have a copy too! 🙂  Look at me always trying to be the problem solver!

Family Fun

I can’t wait until tomorrow night!  We are having an Oktoberfest party at my parents house, and it’s sure to be a ton of fun.  My mom is making sauerkraut and bratwursts.  My dad will have the bar fridge (my parents have a full bar in the basement, complete with a kitchen-sized fridge full of beer) stocked with tons of tasty German brew.

This was the fridge stocked up for New Year’s Eve 2006-2007

T and I are going to make German pretzels!  What?!?!  You heard me.  We’re going to try to bake some authentic German pretzels.  T’s Oma (grandmother) used to make pretzels every Easter and hang them in a tree (I’m not sure about this one – my German fam never did this) for the kids to find.  I’ve never made them before, so I hope they turn out ok.  They will definitely be loaded with salt like the real Oktoberfest versions!

Check out that giant, salty monster!  Hope mine turn out this good!

Work

Here’s a question to all of my fellow PR chicas out there.  Do you ever feel that some of your clients’ expectations of getting publicity are warped?  Like that they believe that every thing they do needs to be in the paper?  I have this one client in a smaller town, and they think everything they do deserves an article.  This paper has been very generous in giving them a lot of publicity in the past.

What’s even more annoying is that I’m expected to constantly call and e-mail and find out why they aren’t running certain articles.  I can tell you why.  It’s because the economy is falling apart and the elections are coming up.  There is more important news out there at the moment.  I’m just saying.  I feel like this constant harassing is hurting my relationship and not doing anything to benefit the client down the road.

How do you deal with the pressure put on you from clients/your boss to keep getting articles published in one paper?  Do you keep calling/e-mailing to see why it hasn’t run?  Or do you just leave it as is after a phone call and e-mail?  Even if you’re not in PR, how do you deal with this type of pressure?

