America has a problem with working instead of living.  Most people only care about how much money they make and how they can keep making it.  Instead of living to enjoy life, we are forced to live around our work schedules.  I am so over it.  Life is not just about making money.  It should be about experiencing the things around you and building relationships.

Every job I’ve had has been so stingy with giving employees vacation time.  For example, at McHell.com, we started off with 12 vacation days a year.  At first glance, that doesn’t sound too bad…until you read the fine print.  You earned those days at .5 days a pay period, starting after your third month.  We got paid twice a month so you could accumulate those days fairly fast.  Except you never received your first 3 days after you worked your 90 period.  So that means that in your first year you only got 9 vacation days.  Douchey?  I think so.  What was even shittier is that you never received sick days.  So if you got sick and didn’t have any vacation, you had to take it unpaid.  I’m so glad I don’t work there anymore because they didn’t give two shits about the employees, only about how much money they made.

My new job is better, I think I get 14 days.  But because we are so small, taking off is such a hassle.  Unless you are the boss.  I always feel like Mel (my co-worker) and I have to tediously plan to schedule time off.  What really sucks is that if we both want to go somewhere on the same day, we may not be able to because something might come up and no one else can take care of it (notice my sarcasm?).  Things can wait.  People make us wait all of the time.  The world won’t end if something has to be put off until a later date.

That’s what seriously bugs me about living in America.  We are always working.  Long hours, long weeks.  And for what?  Most of the time us little people never even reap the benefits of our efforts.  We don’t get paid more or get more time off.  I’m sick of feeling like I bust my ass 5 days a week and really have little to show for it.  I don’t make a ton of money and I’m too tired to do anything after work except veg out.

Why can’t we have a more laid back mentality like they do in Europe?  There, people live their lives and work comes second.  Not the other way around.  They get 6 weeks of vacation a year and can travel the world and soak up new cultures.  Here, we really don’t get that chance.  The only chance you have for getting a decent amount of vacation is to have a shitty job that requires you to work 50+ hours a week like T or you have to have been employed for 20+ years.  I am so over it!

Don’t get me wrong.  I really like my job and what I do, but I am feeling burned out.  I’m tired of busting my ass for little cash and no time off.  I want a break.  I need something to motivate me to make me not hate working so much.

**Case in point of how much America’s work culture sucks:  T is working about 10 minutes away, so I suggested that we go out for lunch, except he can’t because he is overloaded with work.  His company is hiring fewer people due to the struggling economy, but they are making their employees work double so the clients can still be billed at the same rate.**  Hate!

