With the onset of fall, I am starting to get a travel bug.  I am so ready to take a long weekend trip to somewhere new.  Living in the South and being a part of the SEC, it means that football takes up practically every weekend from the end of August to the beginning of December.  Barf.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to support my team.  But it’s also not the end of the world for me if I miss a game or 2.  Unfortunately, T does not feel this way, sigh… Stupid football season!

I just feel like everyone is going on trips (in the blog world, in real life), and I am stuck at home.  I want to go to fall festivals or take a weekend trip to Boston or somewhere I’ve never been to.  Instead, my weekends have been filled with football and drinking, which is fun but gets old.

At the end of the month, we’ll be going to the GA/FL game in Jacksonville, but it is far from relaxing.  We basically plan to pile in the car and hit the road around 3:30 and hope to arrive in Jax in about 6 hours.  Then hang out for the game on Saturday and head home Sunday morning.  It’s so hectic, and all about football.  I seriously could skip it this year since it’s Halloween weekend, but everyone else wants to go.  I don’t want to end up alone.  Boo!

T and I are planning a trip to Savannah in November for my birthday, which I am really excited about.  But I am also worried that all of the pretty fall leaves will be gone by then.  Plus it feels like work will get in the way.  I’d love for it to be a 3-day weekend where we leave Friday morning and spend all day Friday and Saturday exploring.  But T’s job is so demanding.  They’ve implemented 10-hour work days for the rest of the year, and it’s not even busy season yet!  Come January, they’ll have to put in 12-hour days.  Sucky! Plus my boss will be gone on a media trip the same time we want to go, so I’m sure I can’t get the day off.  Small companies have their benefits but can be annoying when it comes to taking time off.

Sorry for the whine fest, but I’m ready to do something new and cool.  Have any of you been anywhere fun lately?  Or do any of you know of any cool festivals going on in Atlanta that I could check out?  I haven’t found too many promising things when I’ve looked.

